The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Suffolk County
New York

Politicians who died in Suffolk County

  Suffolk County (no city given): David G. Floyd, 1893 — Edward R. Stettinius, 1925 — Matthew A. Henkel, 1978
  Amagansett, Long Island: Garret J. Garretson, 1922
  Amityville, Long Island: Edward J. McGoldrick, 1951 — Algernon Lee, 1954 — Gustave M. Hahn, 1957 — Albert H. Bosch, 2005
  Babylon, Long Island: Richard Higbie, 1900 — Edward Thompson, 1995 — James R. Grover, Jr., 2012
  Bay Shore, Long Island: Joseph L. Perley, 1908
  Bayport, Long Island: G. Murray Hulbert, 1950
  Bellport, Long Island: James Otis, 1898 — William R. Green, 1947 — Edwin L. Garvin, 1960
  Brightwaters, Long Island: William T. Collins, 1961
  Brookhaven, Long Island: Preston E. Terry, 1934
  Center Moriches, Long Island: Charles S. Havens, 1906 — John L. Havens, 1932
  Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island: Samuel Jones, Jr., 1853
  Commack, Long Island: Charles A. Floyd, 1873
  East Hampton, Long Island: Abel Huntington, 1858 — J. W. Zevely, 1927 — Orville H. Northrop, 1941 — Samuel Seabury, 1958 — Dorothy Norman, 1997 — Stuyvesant Wainwright, 2010
  East Moriches, Long Island: John S. Havens, 1903
  East Patchogue, Long Island: Edward V. Loughlin, 1969
  Eastport, Long Island: Roswell P. Flower, 1899
  Good Ground (now Hampton Bays), Long Island: William J. Carr, 1917
  Greenport, Long Island: Henry A. Reeves, 1916 — John D. Bennett, 2005
  Huntington, Long Island: Silas Wood, 1847 — Churchill C. Cambreleng, 1862 — Henry C. Platt, 1904 — Henry L. Stimson, 1950 — Leander B. Faber, 1950 — Charles H. Sullivan, 1968 — Stanley F. Reed, 1980
  Huntington Bay, Long Island: George B. Cortelyou, 1940
  Huntington Station, Long Island: Jerome G. Ambro, 1979
  Islip, Long Island: Tredwell Scudder, 1834 — John B. Stanchfield, 1921 — George S. Graham, 1931 — W. Kingsland Macy, 1961 — Charles Henry Tenney, 1994
  Kings Park, Long Island: George L. Thompson, 1941
  Lindenhurst, Long Island: Charles Heling, 1938 — Walter B. Wellbrock, 1943
  Mastic, Long Island: Nicoll Floyd, 1852 — John G. Floyd, 1881
  Miller Place, Long Island: Caleb S. Woodhull, 1866
  Northport, Long Island: Henry Scudder, 1822 — Lucien Sanial, 1927
  Patchogue, Long Island: Wilmot M. Smith, 1906
  Port Jefferson, Long Island: Alexander G. Blue, 1941
  Quogue, Long Island: Michael E. Butler, 1926
  Sag Harbor, Long Island: Ebenezer Sage, 1834 — Charles T. James, 1862 — Wickham S. Havens, 1880 — Caldwell Edwards, 1922
  Sayville, Long Island: Robert B. Roosevelt, 1906
  Setauket, Long Island: James J. Dooling, 1955
  Shelter Island: Jonathan Nicoll Havens, 1799 — Bourke B. Hickenlooper, 1971 — Hugh L. Carey, 2011
  Smithtown, Long Island: Dominic J. Baranello, 2006
  Southampton, Long Island: Alfred R. Page, 1931 — Edward G. Whitaker, 1931 — Andrew W. Mellon, 1937 — James W. Gerard, 1951 — James C. Healey, 1981 — Angier Biddle Duke, 1995 — Seymour Halpern, 1997 — Benson E. L. Timmons, 1997
  Speonk, Long Island: Charles D. Hilles, 1949
  Stony Brook, Long Island: Harold Baer, Jr., 2014
  Water Mill, Long Island: Courtlandt Nicoll, 1938
  West Islip, Long Island: John T. Willoughby, 1914 — John R. Crews, 1975 — Robert Moses, 1981
  Wyandanch, Long Island: Herman B. Baruch, 1953
   See also New York deathplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/SF-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]