The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Suffolk County
New York

Politicians who were born in Suffolk County

  Amagansett, Long Island: Alfred Conkling, 1789
  Amityville, Long Island: William L. Burns, 1913 — Patrick W. Doherty, 1951 — Dave Weldon, 1953 — Rick Lazio, 1958
  Aquebogue, Long Island: Willis A. Reeve, 1860
  Babylon, Long Island: Willard Placide Reid, 1862 — William Clarke Vyse, 1895 — James R. Grover, Jr., 1919 — Fred Brummer, 1945
  Babylon town, Long Island: Charles Heling, 1880
  Bay Shore, Long Island: Dennis J. Herrera, 1962
  Brentwood, Long Island: George H. Newberry, 1857
  Bridgehampton, Long Island: David Gelston, 1744 — Nathan Sanford, 1777 — Dante B. Fascell, 1917
  Brookhaven, Long Island: William Floyd, 1734 — Tapping Reeve, 1744 — Benjamin Tallmadge, 1754 — Selah B. Strong, 1792 — Felix J. Grucci, Jr., 1951
  Commack, Long Island: Orlando Hubbs, 1840 — Carll S. Burr, Jr., 1858
  Cutchogue, Long Island: John G. Downs, 1873
  East Hampton, Long Island: David Gardiner, 1784 — Julia Tyler, 1820 — D. Gardiner Tyler, 1846 — Edna F. Kelly, 1906 — Howard Dean, 1948
  East Patchogue, Long Island: Denise Jefferson Casper, 1968
  Good Ground (now Hampton Bays), Long Island: Ruth E. Perrin, 1878
  Greenport, Long Island: George C. Gorham, 1832 — S. Wentworth Horton, 1885
  Huntington, Long Island: Zephaniah Platt, 1735 — Henry Scudder, 1743 — Eliphalet Wickes, 1769 — Herbert T. Ketcham, 1850
  Islip, Long Island: Jonathan Thompson, 1773 — Tredwell Scudder, 1778 — George E. Paine, 1920
  Kings Park, Long Island: S. Lawrence Hammerman, 1891
  Mastic, Long Island: John Smith, 1752 — Nicoll Floyd, 1762 — David G. Floyd, 1802 — John G. Floyd, 1806
  Mattituck, Long Island: John M. Lupton, 1856 — John M. Lupton, c.1917
  Melville, Long Island: Sumner Gerard, 1916
  Miller Place, Long Island: Caleb S. Woodhull, 1792
  Montauk, Long Island: Perry B. Duryea, Jr., 1921
  Northport, Long Island: Henry J. Scudder, 1825 — Townsend Scudder, 1865 — Thomas Johnson Michie, 1896
  Oakdale, Long Island: Franklin L. Homan, 1865 — Bronson M. Cutting, 1888
  Patchogue, Long Island: John S. Havens, 1826 — Charles S. Havens, 1834 — John L. Havens, 1859
  Port Jefferson, Long Island: John T. Willoughby, c.1864 — Leslie A. Davis, 1876
  Quogue, Long Island: Erastus F. Post, 1859
  Riverhead, Long Island: John Cleves Symmes, 1742 — David F. Davis, 1867 — Otis G. Pike, 1921 — Michael P. Forbes, 1952
  Sag Harbor, Long Island: Henry A. Reeves, 1832 — Caldwell Edwards, 1841 — Arthur H. Gleason, 1865 — Thaddeus C. White, 1878
  Sayville, Long Island: Joseph T. St. Lawrence, 1913
  Setauket, Long Island: Jesse Woodhull, 1735
  Shelter Island: Jonathan Nicoll Havens, 1757 — Wickham S. Havens, 1806 — DeLancey Nicoll, 1854 — Elbert N. Carvel, 1910
  Smithtown, Long Island: Charles A. Floyd, 1791 — William H. Wickham, 1832 — Wilmot M. Smith, 1852 — George L. Thompson, 1864 — William F. Weld, 1945
  Southampton, Long Island: Silas Halsey, 1743 — Nicoll Halsey, 1782 — Jehiel H. Halsey, 1788 — Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, 1929 — Timothy H. Bishop, 1950
  Southold, Long Island: Ezra L'Hommedieu, 1734 — Jonas Mapes, 1768 — Joseph N. Hallock, 1861 — Lauren De L. Judd, 1881
  Stony Brook, Long Island: Francis B. Spinola, 1821
  Terryville, Long Island: Preston E. Terry, 1859
  West Hills, Long Island: Silas Wood, 1769 — George W. Brush, 1842
  West Islip, Long Island: Richard Higbie, 1857 — Cathy Seibel, 1960
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/SF-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]