The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Nassau County
New York

Politicians who died in Nassau County

  Atlantic Beach, Long Island: Thomas A. McWhinney, 1933
  Baldwin, Long Island: George W. Loft, 1943
  Bayville, Long Island: Daniel O'Reilly, 1911
  Bellmore, Long Island: Harry H. Dale, 1935
  East Rockaway, Long Island: Andrew Nicholas Petersen, 1952
  Flower Hill, Long Island: Michael J. Tully, Jr., 1997
  Garden City, Long Island: William J. Youngs, 1916 — Frederick E. Crane, 1947 — John Esposito, 1997
  Glen Cove, Long Island: William Loeb, Jr., 1937 — Arthur Aitkenhead, 1949 — Percy D. Stoddart, 1957 — Ruth Baker Pratt, 1965 — James T. Hallinan, 1969 — Leonard W. Hall, 1979 — Henry M. Curran, 1993 — John Matthew Cannella, 1996
  Great Neck Estates, Long Island: Russell Benedict, 1936
  Hempstead, Long Island: Oliver Hazard Perry Belmont, 1908 — Walter H. Jaycox, 1927 — Ebba M. Winslow, 1952 — A. Holly Patterson, 1980
  Hempstead, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Nathaniel Lawrence, 1797 — Philip J. A. Harper, 1896
  Inwood, Long Island: Sidney S. Hein, 1972
  Lake Success, Long Island: Robert L. Bacon, 1938
  Lawrence, Long Island: Russell Sage, 1906
  Locust Valley, Long Island: Townsend D. Cock, 1913 — Paul Bonynge, 1937 — Fred C. Tanner, 1963 — F. Trubee Davison, 1974 — Robert A. Lovett, 1986
  Long Beach, Long Island: Samuel S. Whitehouse, 1929 — Louis F. Edwards, 1939
  Lynbrook, Long Island: Frank J. Becker, 1981
  Manhasset, Long Island: Mary D. Cony, 1961 — Frank F. Adel, 1967 — John Hay Whitney, 1982 — James C. Sheridan, 1983 — Peter T. Farrell, 1992 — Meade H. Esposito, 1993 — Angelo C. Petromelis, 1994
  Massapequa, Long Island: Nathan Straus, Jr., 1961 — Peter Joseph Brennan, 1996 — Angelo D. Roncallo, 2010
  Mineola, Long Island: Lloyd Bryce, 1917 — Martin W. Littleton, 1934 — Ralph L. Custer, 1950 — Winston Guest, 1982 — Joseph Carmine Zavatt, 1985
  Mineola, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: John A. Searing, 1876
  New Hyde Park, Long Island: Max Schachtman, 1972 — Sol C. Chaikin, 1991
  North Woodmere, Long Island: Paul A. Fino, 2009
  Oceanside, Long Island: Clarence H. Neal, Jr., 1957
  Old Westbury, Long Island: William W. Cocks, 1932 — Frank X. Altimari, 1998
  Oyster Bay, Long Island: Theodore Roosevelt, 1919 — Edith Roosevelt, 1948 — Hoffman Nickerson, 1965
  Plandome Heights, Long Island: Genesta M. Strong, 1972
  Point Lookout, Long Island: Sidney Hillman, 1946
  Port Washington, Long Island: Henry V. Poor, 1972
  Near Port Washington, Long Island: Solomon R. Guggenheim, 1949
  Rockville Centre, Long Island: Jeremiah Eaton Cary, 1888 — Carlos Avery, 1930 — Michael J. Hogan, 1940 — Harold W. Worzel, 1950 — John F. Carew, 1951 — Thomas E. Morrissey, Jr., 1975 — John F. English, 1987 — John S. Thorp, Jr., 1995 — Mario Pittoni, 1997 — Ralph J. Marino, 2002
  Roslyn, Long Island: Thomas Taber II, 1862 — George J. Balbach, 1996 — Rosemary R. Gunning, 1997 — Murray Schwartz, 2001
  Sea Cliff, Long Island: Milton Lipson, 2003
  South Oyster Bay, Long Island: John Brownson, 1865
  Syosset, Long Island: William D. Mitchell, 1955
  Near Wantagh, Long Island: Abdul Hamid, 1938
  Westbury, Long Island: Charles C. Boyd, 1935
   See also New York deathplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/NA-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]