The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Nassau County
New York

Politicians who were born in Nassau County

  Nassau County (no city given): Harry Browne, 1933
  Baldwin, Long Island: John R. Dunne, 1930
  Cedarhurst, Long Island: Elizabeth Polk Guest, 1910 — Peter A. Peyser, 1921
  Cow Neck, Queens County (now part of Sands Point, Nassau County), Long Island: Joshua Sands, 1757
  East Meadow, Long Island: Lee M. Zeldin, 1980
  Elmont, Long Island: Harold P. Herman, 1902
  Farmingdale, Long Island: Gregory W. Carman, 1937
  Glen Cove, Long Island: James A. McKean, 1845 — William L. Vaughan, 1866 — Samuel R. Pierce, Jr., 1922 — Joseph M. Reilly, 1927 — John Leboutillier, 1953 — Thomas R. Suozzi, 1962
  Great Neck, Long Island: James E. Truex, 1913
  Great Neck, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Walter H. Dearing, 1883
  Hempstead, Long Island: Henry Southard, 1747 — E. H. Harriman, 1848
  Hempstead, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Samuel Tredwell, 1763 — Samuel L. Mitchill, 1764
  Jerusalem, Queens County (now part of Wantagh, Nassau County), Long Island: Thomas B. Jackson, 1797
  Lawrence, Long Island: Joseph Carmine Zavatt, 1900
  Locust Valley, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Townsend D. Cock, 1838
  Lynbrook, Long Island: Donald R. Ackerson, 1921
  Manhasset, Long Island: Richard Joseph Sullivan, 1964
  Manhasset, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Denis O'Leary, 1863
  Mineola, Long Island: Gerry E. Studds, 1937
  North Hempstead, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: John A. Searing, 1805
  Oceanside, Long Island: James D. Theberge, 1930 — Norman F. Lent, 1931
  Old Westbury, Long Island: William W. Cocks, 1861
  Oyster Bay, Long Island: Samuel Jones, 1734 — William W. Rose, 1864 — Theodore Roosevelt, 1887 — Leonard W. Hall, 1900
  Oyster Bay, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Daniel D. Whitney, 1818 — James W. Covert, 1842 — William J. Youngs, 1851
  Port Washington, Long Island: William S. Hults, Jr., 1906
  Rockville Centre, Long Island: George Willets Davison, 1872 — John D. Bennett, 1911 — John S. Thorp, Jr., 1925
  Roslyn, Long Island: Cornelius V. Whitney, 1899
  Near Roslyn, Long Island: Ken Hechler, 1914
  Sea Cliff, Long Island: John J. Burns, 1913
  Uniondale, Long Island: A. Holly Patterson, 1898
  Valley Stream, Long Island: Raymond J. McGrath, 1942
  Westbury, Queens County (now Nassau County), Long Island: Frederick C. Hicks, 1872
  Near Westbury, Long Island: Jotham Post, Jr., 1771
   See also New York birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NY/NA-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]