The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Politicians in Trouble or Disgrace

Politicians in Trouble or Disgrace: New Mexico

in chronological order

  Albert Bacon Fall (1861-1944) — also known as Albert B. Fall — of Three Rivers, Otero County, N.M. Born in Frankfort, Franklin County, Ky., November 26, 1861. Republican. Lawyer; farmer; member of New Mexico territorial House of Representatives, 1891-92; justice of New Mexico territorial supreme court, 1893; New Mexico territory attorney general, 1897; served in the U.S. Army during the Spanish-American War; U.S. Senator from New Mexico, 1912-21; delegate to Republican National Convention from New Mexico, 1916; U.S. Secretary of the Interior, 1921-23. Convicted of bribery in 1929 for his role in the Teapot Dome oil lease scandal; served one year in prison. Died in El Paso, El Paso County, Tex., November 30, 1944 (age 83 years, 4 days). Interment at Evergreen Alameda Cemetery, El Paso, Tex.
  Relatives: Son of William R. Fall and Edmonia (Taylor) Fall; married, May 7, 1883, to Emma Garland Morgan (daughter of Simpson Harris Morgan (1821?-1864)).
  Cross-reference: Edward L. Doheny — Frank J. Hogan
  See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — NNDB dossier — Find-A-Grave memorial
  Books about Albert B. Fall: David H. Stratton, Tempest over Teapot Dome : The Story of Albert B. Fall — Herman B. Weisner, The Politics of Justice: A.B. Fall and the Teapot Dome Scandal
  Sidney Leo Maestas (b. 1954) — also known as Sidney L. Maestas — of Bloomfield, San Juan County, N.M. Born October 7, 1954. Mayor of Bloomfield, N.M., 1998-2001; resigned 2001. Hispanic ancestry. Arrested in January 2001, and pleaded guilty in October, to criminal sexual conduct with two underaged girls. Still living as of 2001.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/trouble.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]