The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
New Mexico: U.S. Senators

U.S. Senators from New Mexico, 1912-2018 (May be incomplete!)
Thomas B. Catron 1912-17 Albert B. Fall 1912-21 Andrieus A. Jones 1917-27 Holm O. Bursum 1921-25 Sam G. Bratton 1925-33 Bronson M. Cutting 1927-28 Octaviano A. Larrazolo 1928-29 Bronson M. Cutting 1929-35 Carl A. Hatch 1933-49 Dennis Chavez 1936-62 Clinton P. Anderson 1949-73 Edwin L. Mechem 1962-64 Joseph M. Montoya 1964-77 Pete V. Domenici 1973- Harrison Schmitt 1977-83 Jeff Bingaman 1983- Tom Udall 2009- Martin Heinrich 2013-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1916 Nov 7: Andrieus A. Jones (Dem), elected; Frank A. Hubbell (Rep), defeated; W. P. Metcalf (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1918 Nov 5: Albert B. Fall (Rep), elected; William Bell Walton (Dem), defeated; W. P. Metcalf (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1921 Sep 20: Holm O. Bursum (Rep), elected; R. H. Hanna (Dem), defeated; A. A. Sena (Ind), defeated; T. S. Smith (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1922 Nov 7: Andrieus A. Jones (Dem), elected; Stephen B. Davis, Jr. (Rep), defeated; T. C. Rivera (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1924 Nov 4: Sam G. Bratton (Dem), elected; Holm O. Bursum (Rep), defeated; A. C. Voorhees (Progressive), defeated.
  • 1927 Dec 20: Andrieus A. Jones, died in office.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Bronson M. Cutting (Rep), elected; Jethro S. Vaught (Dem), defeated.
  • 1928 Nov 6: Octaviano A. Larrazolo (Rep), elected; Juan N. Vigil (Dem), defeated.
  • 1930 Nov 4: Sam G. Bratton (Dem), elected; Herbert B. Holt (Rep), defeated; R. B. Cochran (Socialist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Bronson M. Cutting (Rep), elected; Dennis Chavez (Dem), defeated; W. C. Thorp (Socialist), defeated; Alphonso Ray (Communist), defeated.
  • 1934 Nov 6: Carl A. Hatch (Dem), elected; Richard C. Dillon (Rep), defeated; T. N. Hotchinson (Socialist), defeated; C. G. Plaster (Communist), defeated.
  • 1935 May 6: Bronson M. Cutting, died in office.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Carl A. Hatch (Dem), elected; Ernest W. Everly (Rep), defeated; W. C. Thorp (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1936 Nov 3: Dennis Chavez (Dem), elected; M. A. Otero, Jr. (Rep), defeated; Santiago E. Matta (Farmer-Labor), defeated.
  • 1940 Nov 5: Dennis Chavez (Dem), elected; Albert K. Mitchell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1942 Nov 3: Carl A. Hatch (Dem), elected; J. Benson Newell (Rep), defeated.
  • 1946: Patrick J. Hurley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1948 Nov 2: Clinton P. Anderson (Dem), elected; Patrick J. Hurley (Rep), defeated.
  • 1962 Nov 18: Dennis Chavez, died in office.
  • 1964 Nov 3: Joseph M. Montoya (Dem), elected; Edwin L. Mechem (Rep), defeated.
  • 1966 Nov 8: Clinton P. Anderson (Dem), elected; Anderson Carter (Rep), defeated.
  • 1970: David F. Cargo (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1970 Nov 3: Joseph M. Montoya (Dem), elected; Anderson Carter (Rep), defeated.
  • 1972: Robert A. Mondragon (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1972: David F. Cargo (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1972 Jun 6: David L. Norvell (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1972 Nov 7: Pete V. Domenici (Rep), elected; Jack Daniels (Dem), defeated.
  • 1976 Nov 2: Harrison Schmitt (Rep), elected; Joseph M. Montoya (Dem), defeated; Ernesto B. Borunda (La Raza Unida), defeated; Malcolm Dillon (American), defeated.
  • 1978 Nov 7: Pete V. Domenici (Rep), elected; Toney Anaya (Dem), defeated.
  • 1982 Nov 2: Jeff Bingaman (Dem), elected; Harrison Schmitt (Rep), defeated.
  • 1984 Nov 6: Pete V. Domenici (Rep), elected; Judith A. Pratt (Dem), defeated.
  • 1988 Nov 8: Jeff Bingaman (Dem), elected; William Valentine (Rep), defeated.
  • 1990 Nov 6: Pete V. Domenici (Rep), elected; Tom R. Benavides (Dem), defeated; Orlin G. Cole, defeated; Gerald P. Chapman, defeated.
  • 1994 Nov 8: Jeff Bingaman (Dem), elected; Colin R. McMillan (Rep), defeated.
  • 1996 Nov 5: Pete V. Domenici (Rep), elected; Art Trujillo (Dem), defeated; Abraham J. Gutmann (Green), defeated; Bruce M. Bush (Libertarian), defeated.
  • 2000: Steve Pearce (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2000 Nov 7: Jeff Bingaman (Dem), elected; William Thomas Redmond (Rep), defeated; Orlin G. Cole, defeated.
  • 2002 Nov 5: Pete V. Domenici (Rep), elected; Gloria Tristani (Dem), defeated.
  • 2008: Heather Wilson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2008: Steve Pearce (Rep), defeated.
  • 2018 Nov 6: Gary E. Johnson (Libertarian), defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/ussen.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]