The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors of Bloomfield, New Mexico

Mayors of Bloomfield, 1953-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Jack Waller 1953-56 Louis T. Faverino 1956-58 Jesse Shindler 1958-60 C. H. Otto 1960-62 H. Daniel Sullivan 1962-64 Johnny Duncan 1964-68 Victor A. Motto, Jr. 1968-74 Elward C. Wagoner 1974-78 Virginia A. Kittell 1978 William I. Huntington 1978-82 Carol L. Halvorson 1982 Erva Lynch 1982-86 Richard T. Toliver 1986-90 Art Kittell 1990-95 Sam Mohler 1995-98 Sidney L. Maestas 1998-2001 Keith W. Johnson 2001-06 Scott Eckstein 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1953: Jack Waller, elected.
  • 1954: Jack Waller, elected.
  • 1956 Jan 26: Jack Waller, resigned; Louis T. Faverino, appointed.
  • 1956 Apr 3: Louis T. Faverino (Better Bloomfield Ticket), elected; Henry Phelps (Bigger Bloomfield Ticket), defeated.
  • 1958: Jesse Shindler, elected.
  • 1960 Apr 6: C. H. Otto, elected; Jesse Shindler, defeated.
  • 1962 Apr 3: H. Daniel Sullivan, elected unopposed.
  • 1964: Johnny Duncan, elected.
  • 1966: Johnny Duncan, elected.
  • 1968: Victor A. Motto, Jr., elected.
  • 1970: Victor A. Motto, Jr., elected.
  • 1972 Mar 7: Victor A. Motto, Jr., elected; W. W. 'Woody' Mauldin, defeated.
  • 1974 Mar 5: Elward C. Wagoner, elected.
  • 1976 Mar 2: Elward C. Wagoner, elected.
  • 1978 Mar 7: Virginia A. Kittell, elected; Irene Zufelt, defeated; Jasper Conner, Jr., defeated.
  • 1978 Sep 25: Virginia A. Kittell, died in office.
  • 1982 Mar 2: Carol L. Halvorson, elected; Ethel L. Place, defeated; Shelly Shellcrosslee, defeated.
  • 1982 Apr 22: Carol L. Halvorson, died in office.
  • 1982 May 6: Erva Lynch, appointed.
  • 1986 Mar 4: Richard T. Toliver, elected; John P. Mitchell, defeated.
  • 1990: Art Kittell, elected.
  • 1994 Mar 1: Art Kittell, elected unopposed.
  • 1995 May 16: Art Kittell, resigned.
  • 1995 May 18: Sam Mohler, appointed.
  • 1998 Mar 3: Sidney L. Maestas, elected; Blanche H. Wagoner, defeated; Dale L. Walls, defeated.
  • 2001 Jan 14: Sidney L. Maestas, resigned.
  • 2001 Jan 18: Keith W. Johnson, appointed.
  • 2002 Mar 5: Keith W. Johnson, elected unopposed.
  • 2006 Mar 7: Scott Eckstein, elected; Elwin Roark, elected; Hondo Seitzinger, defeated; Mark Dustin, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NM/ofc/bloomfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]