The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jefferson County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Jefferson County

Index to Locations

  • Fairbury Fairbury Cemetery

    Fairbury Cemetery
    Fairbury, Jefferson County, Nebraska
    Politicians buried here:
      Robert Vernon Denney (1916-1981) — also known as Robert V. Denney — of Fairbury, Jefferson County, Neb.; Omaha, Douglas County, Neb. Born in Council Bluffs, Pottawattamie County, Iowa, April 11, 1916. Republican. Lawyer; served in the U.S. Marine Corps during World War II; Nebraska Republican state chair, 1961-64; U.S. Representative from Nebraska 1st District, 1967-71. Presbyterian. Member, American Bar Association; Freemasons; Knights Templar; Shriners; Lions; Veterans of Foreign Wars; American Legion. Died in Omaha, Douglas County, Neb., June 26, 1981 (age 65 years, 76 days). Interment at Fairbury Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Harry Evans Potter (1876-1945) — also known as H. E. Potter — of Fairbury, Jefferson County, Neb. Born in Richland County, Ill., February 21, 1876. Republican. Physician; delegate to Republican National Convention from Nebraska, 1924, 1928, 1932. Died February 27, 1945 (age 69 years, 6 days). Interment at Fairbury Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Benjamin F. Potter and Rebecca Jane (Neal) Potter; married, June 6, 1906, to Nina Case.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NE/JF-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]