The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mecklenburg County
North Carolina

Mecklenburg County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Mecklenburg County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Mecklenburg County (incomplete!): Ernest M. Morgan, as of 1952

Mecklenburg County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1904, St. Louis: H. N. Pharr
   1912, Baltimore: Chase Brenizer — William Carey Dowd
   1916, St. Louis: Wade H. Harris — John A. Parker
   1924, New York: T. A. Adam
   1928, Houston: Mrs. W. H. Belk — James A. Bell — Wade H. Harris — Charles W. Tillett, Jr. — Word H. Wood
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. Charles W. Tillett, Jr.
   1940, Chicago: Ben E. Douglas — Cameron Morrison — Mrs. Charles W. Tillett, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: Cameron Morrison — Charles W. Tillett, Jr.
   1948, Philadelphia: Joe L. Blythe — J. J. Harris — Cameron Morrison
   1952, Chicago: Sidney F. Croft — David McConnell — Cameron Morrison — H. Haywood Robbins
   1956, Chicago: Irwin Belk — Ben E. Douglas — Jack D. Love — David McConnell — John McDowell — Herman A. Moore — Mrs. Charles W. Tillett, Jr.
   1960, Los Angeles: J. Spencer Bell
   1964, Atlantic City: Irwin Belk — W. E. Graham, Jr. — C. C. Hope — Raymond E. King — Charles Knox — David McConnell — John Plumides
   1996, Chicago: Martha B. Alexander — John S. Arrowood — Robert Davis — Beverly Earle — Maxine Eaves — Hiawatha Foster — Harvey B. Gantt — Wilma D. Leake — Eoline Patton — Stephen Porter
   2000, Los Angeles: John S. Arrowood — Beverly Earle — Hiawatha Foster — Eoline Patton
   2004, Boston: Martha B. Alexander — John S. Arrowood — Christine R. Bowser — Charlie Dannelly — German DeCastro — Beverly Earle — Hiawatha Foster — Paula Little — Tasse Little — Eoline Patton — Melvin L. Watt
   2008, Denver: Martha B. Alexander — Ralph W. Belk III — Christine R. Bowser — Susan Burgess — Tricia A. Cotham — Carla Cunningham — Hiawatha Foster — Anthony Foxx — Marc Friedland — Vani Hari — Susan M. Higgins — Torre Jessup — Mary T. Klenz — Paula Little — Brandon Lofton — Eoline Patton — Ella B. Scarborough — Vinod Thomas — Melvin L. Watt — Nathan Wolf
   2012, Charlotte: Vani Hari
Republican National Conventions:
   1896, St. Louis: J. M. Goode — William McMullen — Jonas W. Mullen
   1908, Chicago: D. Kirby Pope
   1912, Chicago: Samuel S. McNinch
   1920, Chicago: John M. Morehead
   1924, Cleveland: Jake F. Newell — John J. Parker
   1932, Chicago: Judson D. Albright — Jake F. Newell
   1936, Cleveland: Marvin L. Ritch
   1940, Philadelphia: Jake F. Newell
   1944, Chicago: J. M. Van Hoy
   1948, Philadelphia: E. J. Presser
   1952, Chicago: John L. Morehead
   1956, San Francisco: Marcus T. Hickman — Mrs. Louis G. Rogers
   1960, Chicago: Marcus T. Hickman — Dorothy A. Presser — Mrs. Louis G. Rogers
   1964, San Francisco: Marcus T. Hickman — R. Powell Majors — Dorothy A. Presser — Mrs. Louis G. Rogers — J. Herman Saxon
   1972, Miami Beach: John A. Campbell — Katherine W. Crockett — Charles R. Jonas, Jr. — Thelma Rogers — Marie Rowe
   2004, New York: John Aneralla — Pat McCrory — W. Edwin McMahan
   2008, St. Paul: John Aneralla — Patricia Armstrong — Warren Cooksey — Carson Daves — Linda Daves — Richard D. Killian — Claire J. Mahoney — Pat McCrory — Thomas P. McMahon — Mac Musslewhite — Dan Ramirez — John A. Steward III — Daphne Ann Stroup — John B. Stroup — Mary P. Summa — Tommy Lee Teague, Jr.
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: William F. Davidson
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/NC/ME-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]