The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Penobscot County

Penobscot County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Penobscot County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Penobscot County (incomplete!): Lois Bloomer, as of 2003

Penobscot County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1840, Baltimore: Hannibal Hamlin
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Charles D. Jameson — Amos M. Roberts
   1864, Chicago: Gorham L. Boynton — Marcellus Emery — Charles W. Roberts
   1876, St. Louis: Francis W. Hill — John S. Ricker — A. M. Robinson, Jr.
   1908, Denver: Frederick W. Knowlton
   1912, Baltimore: Cornelius Murphy — Frederick H. Strickland
   1916, St. Louis: Frederick W. Knowlton
   1924, New York: William F. Curran — Charles W. Mullen — William H. Waterhouse
   1928, Houston: Julia E. Byrnes — Patrick J. Byrnes — Mrs. James O'Connor — James G. O'Connor
   1932, Chicago: John G. Utterback
   1936, Philadelphia: Thomas F. Gallagher — P. Frank Geagan — John B. Merrill
   1940, Chicago: Patrick J. Byrnes — Patrick Gehegan — Ralph E. Graham — Katherine M. Hickson — Florence M. Latno — John B. Merrill
   1944, Chicago: Patrick J. Byrnes — Mary L. Curran — Thomas N. Curran — Fernand Despins — Ralph E. Graham — Katherine M. Hickson — William Maney — Granville B. McMillan
   1948, Philadelphia: Julia E. Byrnes — Patrick J. Byrnes — Zenus Harvey — Katherine M. Hickson — William Maney
   1952, Chicago: C. Austin Barrett — Joseph Hickson
   1956, Chicago: Charles Butera — Arthur Graham — Garfield J. Jones — Madelin F. Kiah — Morris Pilot
   1964, Atlantic City: Keith Anderson — James Dudley — Gloria H. Latno — Charles McEvoy — Edward Stern
   1984, San Francisco: Joseph M. Baldacci — Ada Harrigan — Carole McConnell — Lenore Mullen — Charles J. O'Leary
   1996, Chicago: John E. Baldacci — D. Bruce King — Gwethalyn M. Phillips
   2000, Los Angeles: Gwethalyn M. Phillips
   2004, Boston: Mary Cathcart — D. Bruce King — Jim Martin — Michael H. Michaud — Roxanne Munksgaard — Cheryl Neale — Gwethalyn M. Phillips — Scott Ruffner
   2008, Denver: Joseph M. Baldacci — David Bright — Michael H. Michaud — Emily Miles — Gwethalyn M. Phillips — Scott Ruffner — James Varner
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Joseph Bartlett — Abner R. Hollowell — Edward Kent — George M. Weston
   1860, Chicago: Samuel F. Hersey — William H. McCrillis
   1864, Baltimore: Samuel F. Hersey — George K. Jewett
   1868, Chicago: Louis Barker
   1876, Cincinnati: Charles A. Boutelle
   1884, Chicago: Joseph S. Wheelwright
   1888, Chicago: Charles A. Boutelle — B. B. Thatcher
   1896, St. Louis: Stanley Plummer — Isaiah K. Stetson
   1900, Philadelphia: Flavius O. Beal — Frederic H. Parkhurst
   1904, Chicago: N. M. Jones — F. Marion Simpson
   1908, Chicago: Charles J. Dunn
   1912, Chicago: Halbert P. Gardner — L. B. Waldron
   1916, Chicago: Charles J. Dunn — P. J. Feeney
   1920, Chicago: Patrick H. Gillen — Burton W. Howe — E. B. Sanger
   1924, Cleveland: Frank W. Phelps — Harry F. Rose — F. Marion Simpson
   1928, Kansas City: Mary Allen — Belmont A. Smith — John Wilson
   1932, Chicago: Mary Allen — Wingate F. Cram
   1936, Cleveland: William S. Cole — Clarence H. Crosby — Sylvia Ross
   1940, Philadelphia: Ruth T. Clough — J. Fred O'Connell — Melissa J. O'Connell — Clarence C. Stetson
   1944, Chicago: Clarence H. Crosby — Annie Quirk
   1948, Philadelphia: Merrill R. Bradford — Robert N. Haskell — Marion E. Martin — Marie McLaughlin — John Sealey, Jr.
   1952, Chicago: Ada M. Gleszer — Robert N. Haskell
   1956, San Francisco: Owen Brewster — James E. Coney — John McLaughlin — Marie McLaughlin — James C. Totman — Doris White
   1960, Chicago: Joyce Downie — Llewelyn R. Michaud — Forest K. Moors — Samuel W. Philbrick — Lewman B. Soper
   1972, Miami Beach: Minnette Cummings — Ralph E. Leonard — Wakine Tanous — Donna Tibbetts
   2004, New York: Jim Donnelly
   2008, St. Paul: Andre E. Cushing — Kenneth W. Fredette — Joshua A. Tardy
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Elisha H. Allen

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/PE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]