The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Penobscot County

Politicians who were born in Penobscot County

  Penobscot County (no city given): Dennis Bow, 1829 — John H. McGraw, 1850
  Argyle: Solomon Gilman Comstock, 1842
  Bangor, 1700-1799: James Carr, 1777
  Bangor, 1800-1899: Gorham L. Boynton, 1806 — William H. Brown, 1822 — William F. Allen, 1831 — J. Swett Rowe, c.1835 — Frederick A. Cummings, 1838 — Joseph H. Manley, 1842 — Peter Mutty, 1848 — Otto E. Greeley, 1853 — John H. Carkin, 1853 — Edward H. Blake, c.1856 — John F. Woodman, c.1856 — Boardman Hall, 1856 — Edward Kent, Jr., 1862 — Frederick W. Plaisted, 1865 — Allen C. T. Wilson, 1866 — Rowland W. Stewart, 1866 — William A. Heal, 1867 — John H. Dooley, 1869 — Charles S. Wilson, 1873 — Charles B. Clarke, 1875 — Donald F. Snow, 1877 — Wingate F. Cram, 1877 — Clarence C. Stetson, 1884
  Bangor, 1900-1999: Ruth T. Clough, 1902 — Edward M. Curran, 1903 — Robert N. Haskell, 1903 — Robert Newbegin, 1905 — William P. Snow, 1907 — James B. Mullen, 1913 — Chester E. Norris, Jr., 1927 — John D. Quine, 1934 — William S. Cohen, 1940 — John McKernan, Jr., 1948 — John E. Baldacci, 1955
  Bradford: Franklin Augustus Wilson, 1832 — Ida M. Libby, 1855
  Brewer: Joshua L. Chamberlain, 1828 — William F. Curran, 1863 — Richard A. Kiah, 1915
  Carmel: Lucilius A. Emery, 1840
  Charleston: David T. Bunker, 1836 — Richard T. Dunning, 1865
  Chester: Mark Alton Barwise, 1881
  Corinna: Samuel S. Fifield, 1839 — LeRoy R. Folsom, 1870
  Corinth: A. P. Whitney, 1825 — George W. Emery, 1830
  Dexter: Roscoe P. Copeland, 1838 — Edgar L. Jones, 1853 — Noah W. Burdick, 1855 — Owen Brewster, 1888 — Patricia Ann Millett, 1963
  Dixmont: Charles F. Bragg, c.1850 — Albert R. Day, c.1861 — Aaron M. Frey, c.1979
  East Corinth: Arthur R. Gould, 1857
  East Hampden, Hampden: Charles Gardner Miles, 1879
  Garland: S. Arthur Paul, 1888
  Hampden: Isaiah Stetson, 1812 — James S. Brown, 1824 — Hiram Knowles, 1834 — Charles Hamlin, 1837 — Hannibal E. Hamlin, 1858 — Philip Marshall Brown, 1875
  Hermon: Howard B. Leathers, 1852
  Kingman: Marion E. Martin, 1900
  Levant: William T. Haines, 1854 — Lincoln E. Clement, 1895
  Lincoln: Willard H. Cummings, 1884
  Medway: Michael H. Michaud, 1955
  Milford: Joseph W. Craven, 1854
  Millinocket: Madelin F. Kiah, 1916
  Newburg: Joseph H. Whitney, 1858
  Newport: Horace D. Ridlon, 1876 — Claude V. Badger, c.1885 — Lewis O. Barrows, 1893
  Old Town: James N. Coombs, 1842 — J. Fred Twitchell, 1863 — Frederick R. Dyer, 1873
  Orono: Jonathan Norcross, 1808 — Charles F. Washburn, 1849 — Wallace Rider Farrington, 1871
  Orrington: Ebenezer M. Chamberlain, 1805 — Benjamin F. Mudge, 1817 — Arthur Chapin, 1855
  Stillwater, Old Town: F. Otis Gould, 1856
  Winn: Robert F. Fernald, 1890
   See also Maine birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ME/PE-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]