The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Berkshire County

Berkshire County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Berkshire County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Berkshire County: [none currently in database]

Berkshire County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Charles Heebner
   1864, Chicago: Phineas Allen
   1876, St. Louis: Cebra Quackenbush
   1896, Chicago: John C. Crosby
   1912, Baltimore: Garrett Droppers — Phillip W. Goewey — Luke J. Minihan
   1916, St. Louis: Joseph W. Farrell — William F. Grenier — Patrick J. Moore
   1924, New York: Alice E. Birmingham — Thomas F. Cassidy — Thomas E. Hurley — William A. O'Hearn — William E. Staples
   1928, Houston: Jeremiah M. Linnehan
   1932, Chicago: John C. Roe — Michael E. Troy
   1936, Philadelphia: James M. Coughlin — John M. Deely
   1940, Chicago: John M. Deely
   1944, Chicago: Daniel Casey — Augusta R. Dee — Rose O'Brien
   1948, Philadelphia: Daniel Casey — Thomas F. Graham — Samuel E. Levine
   1952, Chicago: James M. Burns — John J. Dwyer — Thomas F. Graham — Samuel E. Levine
   1956, Chicago: James M. Burns — John J. Dwyer
   1960, Los Angeles: James M. Burns — Robert P. Cramer — John J. Dwyer
   1964, Atlantic City: James M. Burns — John D. Courtney, Jr. — Robert B. Dillon
   1972, Miami Beach: Flora H. Bloedel
   1980, New York: Remo Del Gallo — Mary Flynn — Mary K. O'Brien — James Rowley
   1996, Chicago: Mary K. O'Brien — Margaret Ware Johnson
   2004, Boston: Mary K. O'Brien — Margaret Johnson Ware — Tela Zasloff
   2008, Denver: Harry Dobelle — Kit Dobelle — Katherine M. O'Brien — Molly O'Grady
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Z. M. Crane
   1860, Chicago: John H. Coffin — Ensign H. Kellogg
   1864, Baltimore: Jonathan Edwards Field — James T. Robinson — Andrew J. Waterman
   1888, Chicago: William M. Prince — Frank H. Wright
   1896, St. Louis: George K. Baird — W. Murray Crane — Parley A. Russell
   1900, Philadelphia: William B. Plunkett — Francis W. Rockwell — Nathan B. Wood
   1904, Chicago: John H. C. Church — W. Murray Crane — Arthur B. Daniels — William A. Gallup
   1908, Chicago: W. Murray Crane — Arthur W. Eaton — Frank H. Wright
   1912, Chicago: Cummings C. Chesney — Charles H. Cutting
   1916, Chicago: W. Murray Crane — Charles E. Hull — James R. Savery
   1920, Chicago: W. Murray Crane — James R. Savery — John H. Waterhouse
   1924, Cleveland: John B. Hull — Robert M. Stevens — John H. Waterhouse
   1928, Kansas City: John B. Hull — Denis T. Noonan
   1936, Cleveland: Gladys S. Brothers — Denis T. Noonan — Allen T. Treadway
   1940, Philadelphia: Frank A. Bond — John B. Hull, Jr.
   1944, Chicago: Frank A. Bond — Helena Fossa
   1948, Philadelphia: Frances Dwight Buell — Fred H. Purches
   1952, Chicago: George W. Schryver — Helena A. Viale
   1956, San Francisco: Bruce Crane — Frederick M. Myers, Jr.
   1960, Chicago: Silvio O. Conte — Bruce Crane
   1972, Miami Beach: Silvio O. Conte
   1988, New Orleans: Silvio O. Conte — Peter C. Webber — Henry Williams, Jr.
   2008, St. Paul: Richard Dohony — Jane M. Swift
   2012, Tampa: Robin Almgren — Mike Case
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: Henry Shaw
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/MA/BE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]