The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Ohio County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Ohio County

Index to Locations

  • Hartford Oakwood Cemetery

    Oakwood Cemetery
    Hartford, Ohio County, Kentucky
    Politicians buried here:
      Samuel Oldham Peyton (1804-1870) — also known as Samuel O. Peyton — of Hartford, Ohio County, Ky. Born in Kentucky, 1804. Democrat. Member of Kentucky state legislature, 1840; U.S. Representative from Kentucky, 1847-49, 1857-61 (3rd District 1847-49, 2nd District 1857-61); defeated, 1855. Slaveowner. Died in 1870 (age about 66 years). Interment at Oakwood Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Henry Davis McHenry (1826-1890) — also known as Henry D. McHenry — of Hartford, Ohio County, Ky. Born in Hartford, Ohio County, Ky., February 27, 1826. Democrat. Member of Kentucky state house of representatives, 1851; member of Kentucky state senate, 1861; U.S. Representative from Kentucky 2nd District, 1871-73; member of Democratic National Committee from Kentucky, 1872-90; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Kentucky, 1880, 1888; delegate to Kentucky state constitutional convention, 1890. Slaveowner. Died December 17, 1890 (age 64 years, 293 days). Interment at Oakwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Hardin McHenry.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/OH-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]