The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Kentucky: Constitutional Convention

Delegates to State Constitutional Convention, 1791-1912 (May be incomplete!)
Benjamin Logan 1791-92 James Markham Marshall 1791 John Adair 1792 Alexander Scott Bullitt 1792 James Garrard 1792 George Nicholas 1792 Isaac Shelby 1792 John Breckinridge 1799 Alexander Scott Bullitt 1799 Green Clay 1799 Felix Grundy 1799 John Logan 1799 William Logan 1799 John Rowan 1799 Francis M. Bristow 1849 James Stone Chrisman 1849 Beverly L. Clarke 1849 Nathan Gaither 1849 Selucius Garfielde 1849 James H. Garrard 1849 James Guthrie 1849 Benjamin Hardin 1849 John Louis Hargis 1849 Willis B. Machen 1849 Alexander Keith Marshall 1849 John H. McHenry 1849 David Meriwether 1849 Thomas P. Moore 1849 William Preston 1849 John W. Stevenson 1849 Albert Gallatin Talbott 1849 Philip Triplett 1849 Charles A. Wickliffe 1849 Robert Nelson Wickliffe 1849 Silas Woodson 1849 Joseph Lecompte 1850 William M. Beckner 1890 Cassius M. Clay 1890-91 William J. Goebel 1890-91 Francis Alexander Hopkins 1890 Addison D. James 1890 John W. Lewis 1890 Henry D. McHenry 1890 Samuel J. Pugh 1890-91 J. Proctor Knott 1891 Thomas Jefferson Nunn 1891 South Strong 1912

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1849: James Speed, defeated; Robert Jefferson Breckinridge, defeated.
  • 1850: Harrison Taylor, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/KY/ofc/cncn.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]