The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tolland County

Tolland County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Tolland County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Tolland County: [none currently in database]

Tolland County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: M. R. West
   1876, St. Louis: Richard S. Hicks
   1880, Cincinnati: Jabez L. White
   1892, Chicago: Edwin C. Pinney
   1896, Chicago: Lyman T. Tingier
   1900, Kansas City: George Forster
   1908, Denver: Claude C. Pinney
   1912, Baltimore: Thomas F. Noone — Edward M. Yeomans
   1920, San Francisco: Fannie D. Welch — Edward M. Yeomans
   1924, New York: George H. Robertson — Fannie D. Welch — Edward M. Yeomans
   1928, Houston: Ozro G. Hanks — Fannie D. Welch
   1932, Chicago: Thomas F. Noone — Harold B. Pinney — Fannie D. Welch
   1936, Philadelphia: Fannie D. Welch
   1940, Chicago: Thomas J. Birmingham — John F. Driscoll
   1948, Philadelphia: Robert J. Pigeon — Arthur Sebert
   1952, Chicago: Attilio R. Frassinelli
   1956, Chicago: Attilio R. Frassinelli — Edward Y. O'Connell
   1960, Los Angeles: Attilio R. Frassinelli — Marita Merrick
   1968, Chicago: Gerald E. Anderson — Renato B. Calchera — Norman T. Davis — Naomi M. Hammer
   1972, Miami Beach: Attilio R. Frassinelli
   1996, Chicago: Dorothy M. Grady — Denise W. Merrill — Bruce R. Olsson — Maurice J. Rondeau — Nancy S. Wyman
   2000, Los Angeles: Nancy S. Wyman
   2004, Boston: Rajinder Buttar — Gloria Collins — Joe Courtney — Nancy S. Wyman
   2008, Denver: Joe Courtney — Robert Madore — William Rudis — Nancy S. Wyman
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Dwight Loomis
   1860, Chicago: Leverett E. Pease
   1864, Baltimore: Jasper H. Bolton
   1872, Philadelphia: Lucius S. Fuller
   1876, Cincinnati: Dwight Marcy
   1880, Chicago: E. Alden Converse — William M. Corbin
   1884, Chicago: George Belding — Ralph P. Gilbert
   1888, Chicago: Julius Converse — E. Stevens Henry — F. H. Underwood
   1896, St. Louis: William H. Prescott — George Sykes
   1900, Philadelphia: Edward E. Fuller — Francis G. Maxwell
   1908, Chicago: William H. Hall — George E. Keeney
   1912, Chicago: William H. Hall — Francis J. Regan
   1916, Chicago: John Buckley — William H. Hall — Francis T. Maxwell
   1920, Chicago: William H. Hall — William H. Heald — R. Leland Keeney
   1924, Cleveland: Francis T. Maxwell — A. J. Mitchell
   1928, Kansas City: Charles H. Allen — R. Leland Keeney
   1932, Chicago: Ralph D. Keeney
   1936, Cleveland: William L. Higgins
   1940, Philadelphia: Ernest S. Fuller — Francis C. Luce
   1944, Chicago: R. Leland Keeney
   1948, Philadelphia: Harry Lugg
   1952, Chicago: Simon S. Cohen — Julia A. Keeney — Frank C. Parizek
   1956, San Francisco: Julia A. Keeney — Robert L. Keeney, Jr. — John H. Mullen
   1960, Chicago: Robert L. Keeney, Jr. — John H. Mullen
   1964, San Francisco: Robert L. Keeney, Jr. — John H. Mullen
   1968, Miami Beach: John H. Mullen
   1972, Miami Beach: Robert H. Steele
   1988, New Orleans: Tony Guglielmo
   2008, St. Paul: Tracy Enders — Tony Guglielmo — Jennifer Harvey
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: John S. Peters
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/TO-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]