The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Tolland County

Politicians who were born in Tolland County

  Andover: William B. Sprague, c.1850 — Frank M. Loomis, c.1854 — Edwin H. Cook, c.1859 — Horace J. Backus, 1889 — George A. Merritt, c.1894
  Bolton: Peter Olcott, 1733 — Simeon Olcott, 1735 — Joseph C. Strong, 1778 — William Williams, 1815 — Henry Alvord, 1819 — Julius Levi Strong, 1828 — D. Russell Brown, 1848 — Ernest M. Howard, 1887
  Columbia: Lysander Woodward, 1817 — Dwight Loomis, 1821 — James P. Little, c.1843
  Coventry: Jesse Root, 1736 — Paul Brigham, 1746 — Samuel H. Huntington, 1765 — Eleazer Pomeroy, 1776 — Eugene W. Latimer, 1887
  Ellington: John H. Brockway, 1801 — Edwin W. Ladd, 1830 — Orlow W. Chapman, 1832 — Alonzo R. Aborn, c.1847 — Robert E. Hyde, c.1876
  Gilead, Hebron: William A. Gilbert, 1815
  Hebron: Daniel Buck, 1753 — Sylvester Gilbert, 1755 — John S. Peters, 1772 — William A. Palmer, 1781 — Samuel Ingham, 1793 — Daniel Gott, 1794 — Daniel T. Jones, 1800 — Norman A. Phelps, 1806 — George G. Sumner, 1841 — Edgar J. Doolittle, 1845 — Harley P. Buell, 1851 — Tom MacArthur, 1960
  Hebron, Windham County (now Tolland County): Erastus Root, 1773
  Mansfield: Jonathan Freeman, 1745 — John Baldwin, 1772 — Samuel Campbell, 1773 — Lebbeus Edgerton, 1773 — Bennet Bicknell, 1781 — Frederick W. Swift, 1831 — Charles Emory Smith, 1842 — William S. Ford, c.1847 — Wilbur L. Cross, 1862
  Rockville: Edward W. Broder, 1881 — Antoni N. Sadlak, 1908
  Rockville, Vernon: Albert E. Waite, 1873
  Somers: Ephraim Kibbey, 1756 — Amariah Kibbe, Jr., 1780 — William Strong, 1808 — Freeman F. Patten, 1856
  South Coventry, Coventry: Curtis P. Brown, 1875
  South Willington, Willington: William H. Hall, 1867
  Stafford: Abijah Blodget, 1797 — Julius Converse, 1798 — E. A. Converse, 1806 — Erasmus Darwin Peck, 1808 — Moses Gage Leonard, 1809 — Ephraim H. Hyde, c.1813 — Edwin C. Pinney, 1838 — E. Alden Converse, 1844 — John E. Fisk, 1869 — Claude C. Pinney, 1880
  Stafford Springs, Stafford: William H. Heald, c.1872 — John Buckley, 1885 — Renato B. Calchera, 1904 — Attilio R. Frassinelli, 1907 — Robert L. Aronson, 1907
  Tolland: Hezekiah Nye, 1766 — Jonathan H. Hubbard, 1768 — William W. Eaton, 1816 — Alvan P. Hyde, 1825 — Marvin D. Edgerton, c.1843 — Lucius H. Fuller, 1849 — Edward E. Fuller, 1853 — A. Esten Clough, 1879
  Union: Ebenezer Stoddard, 1785
  Vernon: Clayton H. Lathrop, 1857 — William J. Shea, c.1901
  Vernon Center, Vernon: Samuel R. Woodward, c.1884
  West Stafford, Stafford: Daniel Davis, 1768
  Willington: Orrin Holt, 1792 — Philip Corbin, c.1825 — Robert Howland Fisk, 1873
   See also Connecticut birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/TO-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]