The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Litchfield County

Litchfield County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Litchfield County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Litchfield County: [none currently in database]

Litchfield County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1864, Chicago: George Taylor
   1876, St. Louis: William H. Barnum
   1880, Cincinnati: William H. Barnum — Owen B. King
   1884, Chicago: William H. Barnum
   1888, St. Louis: William H. Barnum
   1892, Chicago: Sidney P. Ensign
   1904, St. Louis: James P. Woodruff
   1908, Denver: C. W. Camp
   1912, Baltimore: Frank M. Chapin — James F. Meara
   1916, St. Louis: John S. Addis
   1920, San Francisco: Ernest O. Wagner — Thomas Wells
   1924, New York: John F. Addis — John M. Heffernan
   1928, Houston: Charles J. Moore
   1932, Chicago: William V. Brennan — Francis W. Hogan — Mrs. Frank Mercer — Mary C. O'Connor — T. M. Ryan — Anthony W. Telesca — Ida R. Thomas
   1936, Philadelphia: Francis W. Hogan — Mary C. O'Connor — Anthony W. Telesca — Ida R. Thomas
   1940, Chicago: Sutherland Beckwith — Roy W. Hanna — James F. Hogan
   1944, Chicago: George Carr — James F. Hogan — Rudolph Schmorrenberg
   1948, Philadelphia: George Carr — William T. Carroll — Alfred DeAngelis — Norman M. Dube
   1952, Chicago: Michael Dunn — Sebastian Giansiracusa — Harold P. Sullivan
   1956, Chicago: Mrs. Bertie F. K. Cartwright — Dorothy Cassidy — Norman M. Dube — Dorothy McCaffery — Robert Sullivan
   1960, Los Angeles: James J. Casey — Dorothy McCaffery — Gertrude O'Donnell — Zena Temkin
   1968, Chicago: Francis X. Campion — James J. Casey — Arthur Miller — Leonard Stevens — George A. Sweetman
   1996, Chicago: Mary Jane Gryniuk — Lloyd B. Petteway, Jr.
   2004, Boston: Audrey Blondin — Salvatore Luciano
   2008, Denver: Deborah D'Agostino — Salvatore Luciano
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: Charles Adams — George D. Wadhams
   1860, Chicago: Alexander H. Holley — George H. Noble
   1864, Baltimore: William W. Welch
   1872, Philadelphia: Joseph F. Calhoun
   1876, Cincinnati: John T. Rockwell — William B. Rudd
   1880, Chicago: N. Taylor Baldwin — Albert P. Bradstreet — Frederick Miles
   1884, Chicago: James L. Carson — Orsamus R. Fyler — Frederick Miles
   1888, Chicago: Frederick Miles — Alberto T. Roraback — William B. Rudd
   1896, St. Louis: Rufus E. Holmes — Hubert Williams
   1900, Philadelphia: Henry H. Bridgman — J. Deming Perkins — R. J. Plumb
   1908, Chicago: Arthur L. Clark — Orsamus R. Fyler — J. Henry Roraback
   1912, Chicago: Edwin J. Emmons — Harvey L. Roberts — J. Henry Roraback
   1916, Chicago: Charles W. Barnum — Edward H. Hotchkiss — J. Henry Roraback — Dudley L. Vaill
   1920, Chicago: Edgar L. Pond — J. Henry Roraback — Robbins B. Stoeckel
   1924, Cleveland: Walter M. Barnum — William H. Blodgett — George C. Clark — J. Henry Roraback
   1928, Kansas City: Henry G. Ellis — J. Henry Roraback — Frederic C. Walcott
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. Ernest Howe — Mrs. C. N. Robertson — J. Henry Roraback — George R. Sturges — Frederic C. Walcott
   1936, Cleveland: George A. Clark — George R. Sturges
   1940, Philadelphia: Arthur F. Hansl — Walter Howe — Russell L. Patterson
   1944, Chicago: John Lynch — Russell L. Patterson
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. James L. McConaughy — John A. Minetto — Marie P. Moore
   1952, Chicago: Katherine Brown — John A. Minetto — Elton Skilton
   1956, San Francisco: William Hill — Erving Pruyn — Fannie Purrington — Theodore S. Ryan — Arthur E. B. Tanner
   1960, Chicago: Katherine Brown — Gennaro Piscitelli — Fannie Purrington — Theodore S. Ryan
   1964, San Francisco: Malcolm Baldrige — Mrs. Joseph Lester — Gennaro Piscitelli — Theodore S. Ryan
   1968, Miami Beach: Malcolm Baldrige — P. Edmund Power
   1972, Miami Beach: Malcolm Baldrige — William Rees Harris — Alden A. Ives — Lillian Ludlam — Janet Wildman
   2008, St. Paul: Robert Driscoll — Brian Flaherty — Gerald Zordan
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: E. Champion Bacon
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/LI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]