The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Litchfield County

Politicians who died in Litchfield County

  Litchfield County (no city given): Albert B. Landon, 1933 — John A. Danaher, 1990
  Barkhamsted: Abiel Case, 1868
  Bethlehem: James P. Cassidy, 1943
  Canaan: Samuel F. Adam, 1854 — Alberto T. Roraback, 1923
  Colebrook: Lancelot Phelps, 1866
  Cornwall: Edward B. Whitney, 1911
  Harwinton: Abijah Catlin, 1891 — J. Henry Roraback, 1937
  Kent: John W. Douglass, 1909
  Lakeville, Salisbury: Alexander H. Holley, 1887
  Lime Rock, Salisbury: William H. Barnum, 1889
  Litchfield: Andrew Adams, 1797 — Oliver Wolcott, Sr., 1797 — Jedediah Strong, 1802 — John Allen, 1812 — Tapping Reeve, 1823 — Moses Seymour, 1826 — Benjamin Tallmadge, 1835 — Frederick Wolcott, 1837 — Phineas Miner, 1839 — Morris Woodruff, 1840 — George Seymour, 1861 — Frederick A. Tallmadge, 1869 — John H. Hubbard, 1872 — Lewis B. Woodruff, 1875 — Origen S. Seymour, 1881 — Gideon H. Hollister, 1881 — George C. Woodruff, 1885 — Edward W. Seymour, 1892 — Charles B. Andrews, 1902 — William B. Hornblower, 1914
  New Hartford: Edward M. Chapin, 1896
  New Milford: Perry Smith, 1852 — Orange Merwin, 1853 — John F. Addis, 1931 — Clayton H. Deming, 1932 — John S. Addis, 1937 — Burr L. Castle, 1955
  Norfolk: Amos Pettibone, 1864 — William W. Welch, 1892 — Charles E. Hotchkiss, 1944 — John Van A. MacMurray, 1960
  North Canaan: Miles T. Granger, 1895
  Plymouth: Wilbert N. Austin, 1943
  Riverton, Barkhamsted: Dwight F. Ransom, 1928
  Roxbury: Arthur Miller, 2005
  Salisbury: Frederick Miles, 1896 — Thomas F. Murphy, 1995
  Sharon: Samuel R. Gager, 1835 — John Cotton Smith, 1845 — Ansel Sterling, 1853 — Asahel A. Hotchkiss, 1885 — Thomas C. Hart, 1971
  Torrington: Lyman W. Coe, 1893 — Willard Andrew Roraback, 1928 — Charles B. Curtis, 1962 — Charles D. Kilbourn, 1966 — Elmer V. Griggs, 1968 — Robert A. Wall, 1995 — Whitney North Seymour, Jr., 2019
  Warren: Minnie Fellows, 1953
  Washington: Earle Buckingham, 1888
  Winchester: Clarence F. Stotts, 1953
  Winsted: Alvah Nash, 1880 — Chester Wentworth, 1885 — Lorrin A. Cooke, 1902 — Edward B. Gaylord, 1942 — Wilbur G. Manchester, 1947
  Woodbury: Nathaniel Smith, 1822
   See also Connecticut deathplaces not assigned to counties.

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CT/LI-died.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]