The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fresno County

Fresno County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Fresno County (incomplete!): Lionel Steinberg, 1952-58

Republican Party chairs in Fresno County (incomplete!): Bill Jones, as of 1975

Fresno County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1916, St. Louis: Denver S. Church — O. L. Everts
   1924, New York: Frank A. Curtin — David S. Ewing
   1928, Houston: David S. Ewing
   1936, Philadelphia: Thomas F. Lopez
   1940, Chicago: Hugh M. Burns — Thomas F. Lopez
   1944, Chicago: Hugh M. Burns — Thomas F. Lopez
   1948, Philadelphia: Iener W. Nielsen — Lila Orme
   1952, Chicago: Iener W. Nielsen — A. Satrakian — Hunter L. Scott
   1956, Chicago: Hugh M. Burns — Roy F. Greenaway — B. F. Sisk — Lionel Steinberg — Grace Wiggins
   1960, Los Angeles: Anthony Allamprese — Hugh M. Burns — Bert De Lotto — Charles B. Garrigus — Roy F. Greenaway — B. F. Sisk
   1964, Atlantic City: Ralph M. Brody — Bert De Lotto — Sam J. Heath — B. F. Sisk
   1968, Chicago: Richard H. Lehman — Woodrow Miller — Albert E. Molino — Jack Ortega — Donald R. Polly — George Zenovich
   1972, Miami Beach: Max C. Cheeseman — Jessie L. De La Cruz — Blanche Nosworthy — John F. Ramirez — Virginia Sanchez — Al Villa — Wanda J. Wimer
   1988, Atlanta: Tim Baker — Sabastian B. Benavidez — Bruce Bronzan — Linda Cano — Mary H. Curtin — Ronald M. Garabedian — Susan P. Good — Lesly H. Kimber — B. Marcella Martinez — Josie Mena — David M. Wilson
   1996, Chicago: Mary Brown — Raymond F. Ensher — Susan P. Good — Victor Lopez — Rebecca Mendibles — Eleanor Patton — Kenneth Price
   2004, Boston: Roseanne Guaglianone — Vincent J. Lavery — Sarah L. Reyes — Neil Sims
   2008, Denver: Miguel A. Arias — Jim Costa — Mary Fierro — Matt Rogers — Cynthia A. Sterling
Progressive National Conventions:
   1912, Chicago: Chester H. Rowell
Republican National Conventions:
   1888, Chicago: J. W. Martin — Duncan McPherson
   1896, St. Louis: Frank H. Short
   1904, Chicago: Frank H. Short
   1912, Chicago: W. F. Chandler — Chester H. Rowell
   1916, Chicago: George A. Osborn
   1920, Chicago: W. A. Sutherland
   1924, Cleveland: Mrs. Frank Short — Lewis H. Smith — A. L. Wisker
   1928, Kansas City: George A. Osborn
   1932, Chicago: Mrs. Clinton D. Collins — Ray C. Wakefield
   1936, Cleveland: Mrs. Clinton D. Collins — Gilbert H. Jertberg
   1940, Philadelphia: Gertrude Collins — Gilbert H. Jertberg
   1944, Chicago: Mrs. J. P. Bernard — Gilbert H. Jertberg
   1948, Philadelphia: Alberta K. Dunkle
   1952, Chicago: Earl J. Fenston — A. Oakley Hunter
   1956, San Francisco: Lloyd A. Harnish — Jack O. Polzin
   1960, Chicago: Lloyd A. Harnish — A. Oakley Hunter — Melville E. Willson
   1964, San Francisco: Web Cullington — Leland M. Edman — Vernon Hyde
   1972, Miami Beach: M. Michael Cardenas — Dennes Coombs — Theresa Speake
   1992, Houston: Bill Jones — Kenneth L. Maddy — Jeff Reid
   2004, New York: Audrey Redmond — Kevin Shakespeare
   2008, St. Paul: Doug Britton — Kevin Cranney — Gary Davis — Maurine Jones — Bill Jones — Kristan O'Neill — Wendy Turner — Mike Villines — Derek Walter — Tim Ward
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/CA/FR-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]