The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Garland County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Garland County

Index to Locations

  • Hot Springs Government Cemetery
  • Hot Springs Greenwood Cemetery
  • Hot Springs Hollywood Cemetery

    Government Cemetery
    Hot Springs, Garland County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Samuel Price Carson (1798-1838) — also known as Samuel P. Carson — of Pleasant Garden, Guilford County, N.C. Born in Pleasant Garden, Guilford County, N.C., January 22, 1798. Democrat. Member of North Carolina state senate, 1822-24, 1834; U.S. Representative from North Carolina 12th District, 1825-33; delegate to North Carolina state constitutional convention, 1835; delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of Red River, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; Texas Republic Secretary of State, 1836. Slaveowner. Died in Hot Springs, Garland County, Ark., November 2, 1838 (age 40 years, 284 days). Interment at Government Cemetery.
      Cross-reference: Robert Brank Vance
      Carson County, Tex. is named for him.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

    Greenwood Cemetery
    Hot Springs, Garland County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      William Alexander Cocke (1873-1959) — also known as William A. Cocke — of Texas. Born in Nuecestown, Nueces County, Tex., September 24, 1873. Member of Texas state house of representatives, 1906. Died in Little Rock, Pulaski County, Ark., October 2, 1959 (age 86 years, 8 days). Interment at Greenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of William Gabriel 'Gabe' Cocke (1843-1935) and Vanilla Cordette (Price) Cocke (1856-1924); married, September 20, 1896, to Brownie Rees (1876-1959); grandson of Frederick Bird Smith Cocke; great-grandson of John Alexander Cocke; second great-grandson of William Cocke; first cousin twice removed of William Michael Cocke; second cousin once removed of Luke Lea (1879-1945).
      Political family: Lea-Cocke family of Tennessee.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial
      Eleanor Harris Bailey (1903-1983) — also known as Eleanor Harris; Mrs. Lloyd T. Bailey — of Hot Springs, Garland County, Ark. Born in Arkadelphia, Clark County, Ark., June 26, 1903. Republican. Delegate to Republican National Convention from Arkansas, 1952 (member, Resolutions Committee). Female. Died in Hot Springs, Garland County, Ark., May 24, 1983 (age 79 years, 332 days). Interment at Greenwood Cemetery.
      Relatives: Daughter of David Franklin Harris (1876-1921) and Coral Damaris (Hale) Harris (1881-1954); married to Lloyd Truman Bailey (1883-1961).
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Hollywood Cemetery
    Hot Springs, Garland County, Arkansas
    Politicians buried here:
      Lewis Ernest Sawyer (1867-1923) — also known as Lewis E. Sawyer — of Friars Point, Coahoma County, Miss.; Hot Springs, Garland County, Ark. Born in Shelby County, Ala., June 24, 1867. Democrat. Lawyer; mayor, Friars Point, Miss., 1896-98; served in the U.S. Army during the Spanish-American War; member of Arkansas state house of representatives, 1913-15; Speaker of the Arkansas State House of Representatives, 1915; U.S. Representative from Arkansas 6th District, 1923; died in office 1923. Died in Hot Springs, Garland County, Ark., May 5, 1923 (age 55 years, 315 days). Interment at Hollywood Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AR/GA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]