The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Morgan County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Morgan County

Index to Locations

  • Decatur Decatur Cemetery
  • Near Decatur McKendree Cemetery

    Decatur Cemetery
    Decatur, Morgan County, Alabama
    Politicians buried here:
      Seybourn Harris Lynne (1907-2000) — also known as Seybourn H. Lynne — of Birmingham, Jefferson County, Ala. Born in Decatur, Morgan County, Ala., July 25, 1907. Democrat. Lawyer; county judge in Alabama, 1934-40; circuit judge in Alabama, 1940-42; served in the U.S. Army during World War II; U.S. District Judge for the Northern District of Alabama, 1946-73; took senior status 1973. Baptist. Member, American Bar Association; Blue Key; Pi Kappa Alpha; Phi Kappa Phi; Phi Delta Phi; Omicron Delta Kappa; Kiwanis. In 1963, he prohibited Gov. George C. Wallace from barring two Black students from attending the University of Alabama. In 1969, he ordered that Elmwood Cemetery in Birmingham, Ala., be desegregated. Died in Birmingham, Jefferson County, Ala., September 10, 2000 (age 93 years, 47 days). Interment at Decatur Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Seybourn Arthur Lynne and Annie Leigh (Harris) Lynne; married, June 16, 1937, to Katherine Donaldson Brandau.
      The Seybourn H. Lynne U.S. Courthouse and Post Office, in Decatur, Alabama, is named for him.
      Christopher Columbus Harris (1842-1935) — of Alabama. Born near Mt. Hope, Lawrence County, Ala., January 28, 1842. Democrat. Served in the Confederate Army during the Civil War; U.S. Representative from Alabama 8th District, 1914-15. Died in Decatur, Morgan County, Ala., December 28, 1935 (age 93 years, 334 days). Interment at Decatur Cemetery.
      Presumably named for: Christopher Columbus
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page
      Henry Floyd Sherrod (1890-1977) — also known as H. Floyd Sherrod — of Decatur, Morgan County, Ala. Born in Florence, Lauderdale County, Ala., December 2, 1890. Democrat. Served in the U.S. Army during World War I; school teacher and principal; delegate to Democratic National Convention from Alabama, 1932 (alternate), 1948 (alternate), 1952 (alternate), 1968. Church of Christ; later Methodist. Member, Civitan; Kappa Delta Pi; American Legion; Farm Bureau. Died December 1, 1977 (age 86 years, 364 days). Interment at Decatur Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of John Henry Sherrod and Bertie Sherrod; married, June 20, 1918, to Effie D. Poole; married, February 15, 1970, to Grace Lee (Widner) Sandlin.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    McKendree Cemetery
    Near Decatur, Morgan County, Alabama
    Politicians buried here:
      Charles Christopher Sheats (1839-1904) — of Decatur, Morgan County, Ala. Born in Walker County, Ala., April 10, 1839. Republican. Delegate to Alabama secession convention, 1861; member of Alabama state house of representatives, 1861-62; delegate to Alabama state constitutional convention, 1865; delegate to Republican National Convention from Alabama, 1872, 1884; U.S. Representative from Alabama at-large, 1873-75; defeated, 1874. Opposed secession in 1860; expelled from the Alabama House of Representatives in 1862 because of his adherence to the Union; imprisoned by Confederate authorities on a charge of treason, but never tried. Died in Decatur, Morgan County, Ala., May 27, 1904 (age 65 years, 47 days). Interment at McKendree Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/AL/MR-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]