The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Politicians by Age at Death

Politicians Who Died at Age 37

  37 years, 13 days: Francis J. Harper (1800-1837)
  37 years, 14 days: William F. Murray (1881-1918)
  37 years, 19 days: Joseph Selden (1787-1824)
  37 years, 30 days: Luther Hanchett (1825-1862)
  37 years, 44 days: David S. Kaufman (1813-1851)William B. MacMaster, Jr. (1875-1912)
  37 years, 48 days: John J. Hardin (1810-1847)Charles Clement Johnston (1795-1832)
  37 years, 56 days: William Haselden Ellerbe (1862-1899)
  37 years, 61 days: Rufus Palen (1807-1844)
  37 years, 68 days: Edward Hempstead (1780-1817)
  37 years, 72 days: John Bird (1768-1806)
  37 years, 77 days: Jackson I. Case (1865-1903)
  37 years, 83 days: David Barker, Jr. (1797-1834)
  37 years, 92 days: Oscar Iasigi (1846-1884)
  37 years, 100 days: Adolph E. Methudy (1876-1913)
  37 years, 139 days: J. Howell Carroll (1865-1903)
  37 years, 144 days: Albert H. Michelson (1878-1915)
  37 years, 147 days: John T. Croxton (1836-1874)
  37 years, 160 days: Andrew Kennedy (1810-1847)
  37 years, 162 days: Felix G. McConnell (1809-1846)
  37 years, 163 days: William S. Young (1790-1827)
  37 years, 171 days: Asa Wightman (1821-1858)
  37 years, 175 days: Preston S. Brooks (1819-1857)
  37 years, 193 days: William Whitney Kitchen (1875-1912)
  37 years, 202 days: Harold J. Volkema (1930-1967)
  37 years, 208 days: Timothy Jarvis Carter (1800-1838)
  37 years, 215 days: Herman Burnett (1872-1909)
  37 years, 233 days: George Washington Dyal (1817-1854)Erich Hansen (1854-1891)
  37 years, 248 days: Joseph Hamilton Daviess (1774-1811)
  37 years, 271 days: George C. Childress (1804-1841)
  37 years, 274 days: Robert P. Henry (1788-1826)
  37 years, 275 days: James B. Roberts (1784-1822)Rowland W. Stewart (1866-1904)
  37 years, 308 days: Harold M. Deane (1891-1929)
  37 years, 319 days: Andrew Parsons (1817-1855)
  37 years, 323 days: Anna Lou P. Boettcher (1903-1941)
  37 years, 325 days: Edmund W. M. Mackey (1846-1884)
  37 years, 339 days: William H. Brockenbrough (1812-1850)
  37 years, 347 days: Matthias H. Nichols (1824-1862)
  37 years, 351 days: Robert Crittenden (1797-1834)S. C. Stahlman (1898-1936)
  37 years, 352 days: Samuel T. Baird (1861-1899)
  37 years, 354 days: Richard C. Anderson, Jr. (1788-1826)
  Approximately 37 years: Samuel Shepard Conner (c.1783-1820)Irvin S. Pepper (1876-1913)Joseph Hopkins Peyton (1808-1845)Richard Sprigg, Jr. (c.1769-1806)Joseph Alston (1779-1816)John Birdsall (1802-1839)Robert Barr (1802-1839)William N. Blair (1834-1872)Jonathan Stocking (1797-1835)John H. Fitzgerald (1834-1871)Robert Lafayette Crawford (1825-1863)John Alexander McEwen (1822-1859)Charles F. Brissel (c.1879-1916)Noble T. Doane (c.1831-1868)William C. Mains (c.1872-1909)Joseph E. North, Jr. (c.1814-1851)Willard P. Gambell (c.1831-1868)Needham Bryan (1749-1787)Charles H. G. Horsey (c.1848-1885)William R. Taylor (c.1830-1867)Samuel L. Biggers (1862-1899)Hiram M. Hook (c.1831-1868)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/death/age/37.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]