The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Politicians by Age at Death

Politicians Who Died at Age 36

  36 years, 3 days: Nathaniel Lawrence (1761-1797)
  36 years, 9 days: John Gregg (1828-1864)
  36 years, 11 days: George Washington Holman (1811-1847)
  36 years, 22 days: Douglass Houghton (1809-1845)
  36 years, 27 days: Henry A. W. Beck (1903-1939)
  36 years, 53 days: James A. McDonough (1873-1909)
  36 years, 70 days: Henry G. Bailly (1828-1865)
  36 years, 74 days: Willard F. Agnew, Jr. (1924-1961)
  36 years, 76 days: Joseph P. Allyn (1833-1869)
  36 years, 93 days: Thomas Marshal Bibighaus (1817-1853)
  36 years, 117 days: Emmett R. Wooten (1878-1915)
  36 years, 140 days: Henry Charles Goodwin (1824-1860)
  36 years, 141 days: William Sacket Palmer (1816-1852)
  36 years, 155 days: Samuel W. Mardis (1800-1836)
  36 years, 157 days: Benjamin H. Steele (1837-1873)
  36 years, 161 days: Samuel A. Rice (1828-1864)
  36 years, 169 days: Edwin Stanton McCook (1837-1873)
  36 years, 179 days: William M. Churchwell (1826-1862)
  36 years, 192 days: Robert M. McLane (1867-1904)
  36 years, 195 days: George Ogilvie Belden (1797-1833)
  36 years, 220 days: Eugene K. Daniels (1907-1943)
  36 years, 224 days: Enos Hook (1804-1841)
  36 years, 229 days: John Adams Harper (1779-1816)
  36 years, 239 days: Francis Swaine Muhlenberg (1795-1831)
  36 years, 240 days: Jesse Franklin Cleveland (1804-1841)Stephen R. Bell (1860-1897)
  36 years, 248 days: Clinton Levering Cobb (1842-1879)
  36 years, 251 days: John McClary (1785-1821)
  36 years, 275 days: Randal William McGavock (1826-1863)
  36 years, 281 days: Joseph L. Lemon (1894-1931)
  36 years, 285 days: Michael Cook (1828-1864)
  36 years, 317 days: Amos V. Smiley (1841-1878)
  36 years, 321 days: David W. Dickinson (1808-1845)
  36 years, 322 days: Peter A. Porter (1827-1864)
  36 years, 340 days: Rounsevelle Wildman (1864-1901)
  36 years, 343 days: Albert Gallatin Marchand (1811-1848)
  36 years, 348 days: William Henry Drayton (1742-1779)
  36 years, 352 days: Alfred M. Barbour (1829-1866)
  36 years, 353 days: Jack T. Fancher (1891-1928)
  36 years, 354 days: Lucius Q. C. Lamar (1797-1834)
  Approximately 36 years: Joseph Stebbins Lyman (1785-1821)John L. Murray (1806-1842)Ira E. Rider (1869-1906)Thomas Burke (c.1747-1783)Oliver Cromwell Hartley (1823-1859)Patrick C. Jack (1808-1844)William Harris Wharton (1802-1839)James Cooley (1791-1828)James B. Thornton (1801-1838)D. Davis D. Baker (1806-1843)Edward C. Krause (1914-1950)Samuel Newton Hollingsworth (1825-1861)George Washington Montgomery (1804-1841)Thomas J. Surpless (c.1875-1911)William E. Bundy (1866-1903)John Ambrose Ramsey (1788-c.1824)William Campbell (1745-1781)Dan E. Parmelee (1893-1929)John E. Mullally (1875-1912)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/death/age/36.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]