The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Politicians by Age at Death

Politicians Who Died at Age 38

  38 years, 0 days: Lovett R. Potter (1892-1930)
  38 years, 1 days: William H. Gallup (1858-1896)
  38 years, 15 days: Jacob Crowninshield (1770-1808)
  38 years, 23 days: James Clarke (1812-1850)
  38 years, 41 days: Robert C. Wickliffe (1874-1912)
  38 years, 47 days: Allen F. Ferris (1865-1903)
  38 years, 52 days: Joseph H. Peirce (1870-1908)
  38 years, 61 days: David Bagby (1886-1924)
  38 years, 69 days: Sherman Hoar (1860-1898)
  38 years, 79 days: Charles Andrews (1814-1852)
  38 years, 81 days: Ernesto Hurtado (1893-1931)
  38 years, 84 days: James O. Law (1809-1847)
  38 years, 91 days: Carl C. Van Dyke (1881-1919)
  38 years, 96 days: Thomas Buchecker Cooper (1823-1862)
  38 years, 102 days: George Clinton (1771-1809)
  38 years, 104 days: William T. Casto (1824-1862)
  38 years, 125 days: Thomas P. Grosvenor (1778-1817)
  38 years, 126 days: Guy J. Wicksall (1872-1910)
  38 years, 130 days: William Houston Jack (1806-1844)
  38 years, 137 days: Alfred Kilgore (1833-1871)
  38 years, 138 days: Sheffield Phelps (1864-1902)
  38 years, 140 days: William P. Taulbee (1851-1890)
  38 years, 143 days: Suggett L. Edwards (1906-1944)
  38 years, 147 days: Daniel Edgar Van Valkenburgh (1838-1877)
  38 years, 162 days: Simeon H. Anderson (1802-1840)
  38 years, 167 days: James Randolph Reid (1750-1789)
  38 years, 178 days: A. C. Remmel (1882-1920)
  38 years, 192 days: James French Patton (1843-1882)
  38 years, 203 days: W. O. Nolting (1870-1909)
  38 years, 205 days: John Aaron Rawlins (1831-1869)
  38 years, 212 days: Adolph Abeles (1817-1855)
  38 years, 233 days: John F. Kennedy, Jr. (1960-1999)
  38 years, 234 days: John T. Kingston, Jr. (1860-1898)
  38 years, 242 days: Joseph Lander Eastland (1880-1919)
  38 years, 247 days: James Keenan (1823-1862)
  38 years, 249 days: H. G. Berry (1824-1863)
  38 years, 265 days: Philemon T. Herbert (1825-1864)
  38 years, 268 days: Louis A. Wiltz (1843-1881)Ignacio J. Barraza (1969-2007)
  38 years, 272 days: David Edgerton (1815-1853)
  38 years, 273 days: David Olmsted (1822-1861)
  38 years, 282 days: William W. Bibb (1781-1820)
  38 years, 286 days: Harry W. Cockerill (1855-1893)
  38 years, 295 days: Goldsmith Fox Bailey (1823-1862)James Davenport (1758-1797)
  38 years, 296 days: Eli Metcalfe Bruce (1828-1866)
  38 years, 299 days: John S. D. Byrom (1798-1837)
  38 years, 304 days: Henry D. Washburn (1832-1871)
  38 years, 313 days: Andrew Briscoe (1810-1849)
  38 years, 317 days: William E. Kinnikin (1898-1936)
  38 years, 325 days: Gideon Wells (1871-1910)
  38 years, 328 days: John Linscom Boss, Jr. (1780-1819)
  38 years, 340 days: Anthony Michalek (1878-1916)
  38 years, 349 days: Jacob Kerlin McKenty (1827-1866)
  38 years, 352 days: John Purroy Mitchel (1879-1918)
  38 years, 362 days: Benjamin Gladstone (1896-1935)
  38 years (number of days undetermined): Samuel White (1770-1809)
  Approximately 38 years: Robert H. Adams (1792-1830)George Booth Cary (1811-1850)Christopher Rankin (1788-1826)Andrew Sloan (1845-1883)Thomas Telfair (1780-1818)Thomas Van Swearingen (1784-1822)John Kean (1756-1795)Robert M. Coleman (1799-1837)Stephen H. Everitt (c.1806-1844)Isaac Watts Burton (1805-1843)Josiah Lamborn (c.1809-1847)Henry J. Hunt (1788-1826)Louis P. Cooke (1811-1849)Thomas W. Colby (c.1785-1823)Ephraim Foster Anderson (1838-1877)E. H. Kennedy (c.1840-1878)Lewis Holmes Kenan (1833-1871)James Hoban (1808-1846)Maurice Bloch (c.1891-1929)Edgar Atwater (1812-1850)Farley A. Dare (c.1879-1917)E. Gerson Reiger (1892-1931)Ray M. Barrett (1902-1940)Richard Beardsley (1838-1876)Patrick Magill, Jr. (1911-1949)John Baylis (c.1727-1765)John Edwards, Jr. (1760-c.1798)Theodore P. Rich (c.1848-1886)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/death/age/38.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]