The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

South Dakota Republican Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

South Dakota Delegates to Republican National Conventions: very incomplete!

South Dakota Republican Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Minnehaha - Roberts

Republican state chairs, 1894-2020 (Incomplete!)

Orville S. Basford as of 1894-95 James D. Elliott 1896 Charles N. Herreid 1898-1900 Frank Crane 1900-06 Willis C. Cook 1906-12 Elnathan B. Adams 1908-10 Carl G. Sherwood as of 1912 Elnathan B. Adams 1914-16 George W. Wright 1924-26 Charles S. McDonald as of 1931 Harlan J. Bushfield 1934-38 Glenn W. Martens as of 1945 Glen Rhodes as of 1958 Leo A. Temmey as of 1964 Karl Adam as of 2008 Dan Lederman 2017-

Members of Republican National Committee, 1892-2008 (Incomplete!)

A. B. Kittredge 1892-96 Thomas Thorson as of 1908-12 Willis C. Cook 1916-20 William Edwin Milligan 1920-24 Mabel Fontron Rewman as of 1924-40 Harvey C. Jewett, Jr. as of 1940 Leo A. Temmey 1960-72 Mary Jean Jensen as of 2008 Ron Schmidt as of 2008

Members of Republican State Central Committee, 1946-48 (Incomplete!)

Joe H. Bottum 1946-48

Members of Republican State Executive Committee, 1947-48 (Incomplete!)

Sigurd Anderson 1947-48

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/R/SD.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]