The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Ohio Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Ohio Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Ohio Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Crawford - Cuyahoga - Henry - Marion - Ross - Scioto - Tuscarawas

Democratic state chairs, 1902-2008 (Incomplete!)

Harvey C. Garber as of 1902 William Durban as of 1923 Thomas E. Dye as of 1925 Henry G. Brunner 1927-31 Francis W. Poulson as of 1937 Arthur L. Limbach as of 1939 Albert A. Horstman as of 1945 Eugene H. Hanhart 1948-49 Eugene H. Hanhart as of 1955 William L. Coleman as of 1958 Morton Neipp as of 1966-68 Chris Redfern as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1900-2008 (Incomplete!)

Harvey C. Garber as of 1900 Mary Boyle Burns 1938-68 Helen B. Karpinski 1942-44 Rhine L. McLin as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

John G. Thompson as of 1876-80 Calvin S. Brice as of 1888 Edmond H. Moore as of 1912-20 Bernice S. Pyke as of 1920 George White as of 1921 W. A. Julian as of 1930 Charles W. Sawyer 1936-44 Mildred R. Jaster as of 1939-40 Marie M. Dickson Low as of 1948 M. Morris Jackson 1972 William A. Burga as of 2004-08 Jane L. Campbell as of 2004 Enid Goubeaux as of 2004-08 Lloyd C. Mahaffey as of 2004 Mark Mallory as of 2004-08 Ronald L. Malone as of 2004-08 Rhine L. McLin as of 2004 Patricia A. Moss as of 2004-08 Stephanie Tubbs Jones as of 2004-08 Denny White as of 2004 Joyce Beatty as of 2008 Sonny Nardi as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1937 (Incomplete!)

Theda Jacobs as of 1937

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1902-2005 (Incomplete!)

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1903-46 (Incomplete!)

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1883-1949 (Incomplete!)

Samuel S. Yoder as of 1883-85 John C. Vitullo 1944-46 O. L. Teagarden 1948-49

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/OH.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]