The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Iowa Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Iowa Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Iowa Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Black Hawk - Madison - Webster

Democratic state chairs, 1859-2008 (Incomplete!)

James A. Williamson 1859 E. J. Feuling as of 1925 J. Ray Files as of 1925-27 Richard F. Mitchell as of 1929-31 Edward H. Birmingham as of 1937-39 Jake More as of 1945-49 Jake More as of 1955-58 Clif Larson as of 1971 Scott Brennan as of 2008

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1936-2008 (Incomplete!)

Mary S. Kelleher 1936-40 Benona Young as of 1949 Gertrude MacQueen as of 1971 Sarah Swisher as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Moses M. Ham as of 1876-80 J. J. Richardson as of 1888 Martin J. Wade 1912 Anne B. Lawther as of 1920 Wilbur W. Marsh as of 1920-21 Clyde L. Herring as of 1924-28 Flora Cotton Etter 1928-39 J. W. Reynolds as of 1929 Hubert Utterback as of 1939 Frank J. Comfort 1940 Mary S. Kelleher 1940 G. G. Jeck as of 1947-49 Florence Lynch as of 1949 Alberta Metcalf Kelly as of 1954-63 Donald J. Mitchell as of 1954-63 Robert D. Fulton as of 1971 Dagmar Vidal as of 1971 Elaine Baxter as of 1988 Mike Peterson as of 1996 Chet Culver as of 2004 Gordon Fischer as of 2004 Michael L. Fitzgerald as of 2004-08 Pat Marshall as of 2004 Tom Miller as of 2004 Sally J. Pederson as of 2004 Ken Rains as of 2004 Julianne Thomas as of 2004 Tom Vilsack as of 2004 Michael Gronstal as of 2008 Richard Machacek as of 2008 Sandy Opstvedt as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1926-71 (Incomplete!)

Mary S. Kelleher 1926-36 Florence Lynch 1936-40 Vernon M. Vierth as of 1937 Mary Dalton Cole as of 1949 Ruth Moyer as of 1971

Democratic state party treasurers, 1949-71 (Incomplete!)

Iver Christoffersen as of 1949 Ed Skinner as of 1971

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1948-83 (Incomplete!)

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1990-93 (Incomplete!)

Stephen J. Rapp 1990-93

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/IA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]