The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Georgia Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Georgia Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Georgia Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!

Coweta - Houston - Union

Democratic state chairs, 1890-2015 (Incomplete!)

William Yates Atkinson as of 1890-92 William J. Harris as of 1912-13 John James Flynt as of 1916-21 G. E. Maddox as of 1925-30 Lawrence S. Camp 1930-32 Charles S. Reid as of 1937 Jim L. Gillis as of 1939 William Y. Atkinson, Jr. 1942 J. Lon Duckworth as of 1945 James S. Peters as of 1949 John S. Bell as of 1955-58 James H. Gray 1960 John Henry Anderson as of 1988 DuBose Porter 2013-

Democratic state vice-chairs, 2008 (Incomplete!)

Jane V. Kidd as of 2008 Michael Thurmond as of 2008

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1876-2008 (Incomplete!)

Alexander R. Lawton as of 1876 George T. Barnes as of 1880 John H. Estill as of 1888 Clark Howell as of 1912-21 Mrs. F. I. McIntire as of 1920 John S. Cohen 1924- Mrs. Edgar Alexander as of 1929 Virginia Polhill Price 1936-40 E. D. Rivers as of 1939-47 Iris Blitch 1948-56 J. Robert Elliott as of 1954 Robert Lee Russell, Jr. as of 1960-62 Marge Thurman as of 1963 William P. Trotter as of 1963 Maynard H. Jackson as of 1993 Ashley Daniel Bell as of 2004 Carole B. Dabbs as of 2004-08 Hattie B. Dorsey as of 2004 Shirley Franklin as of 2004 Robert Kahn as of 2004 Herbert H. Mabry as of 2004 Richard A. Ray as of 2004-08 Mary Long as of 2008 Lonnie F. Plott as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1872-1937 (Incomplete!)

Isaac Wheeler Avery as of 1872 Calvin M. Hitch 1910-12 Mrs. Fred A. Stowe as of 1937

Democratic state party treasurers, 1936 (Incomplete!)

Ivan Allen as of 1936

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 1898-1908 (Incomplete!)

Horace Holden as of 1898 J. Randolph Anderson 1907-08

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/GA.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]