The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

Arizona Democratic Party offices

Index of Politicians by Party Office Held

State Party Officers:

Arizona Delegates to Democratic National Conventions: very incomplete!

Arizona Democratic Party County Chairs: very incomplete!


Democratic state chairs, 1914-2006 (Incomplete!)

Frank J. Duffy as of 1914 Vernon F. Vaughan as of 1923 A. A. Johns as of 1925 R. C. Stanford 1928-29 Louis B. Whitney as of 1929 C. E. Addams as of 1931 Junious Gibbons as of 1937 Louis B. Whitney as of 1939 E. C. Locklear as of 1945 Stephen W. Langmade 1948-50 J. N. Harber as of 1955 Joe F. Walton as of 1958 Sam Goddard as of 1960-62 Sam Goddard 1979-89 Harry E. Mitchell 2006

Democratic state vice-chairs, 1950 (Incomplete!)

Claire Webb as of 1950

Members of Democratic National Committee, 1912-2008 (Incomplete!)

Reese M. Ling 1912 Fred T. Colter as of 1916 W. L. Barnum as of 1920-24 Mrs. B. J. McKinney as of 1920 Theodora Marsh as of 1924 Isabella S. Greenway 1928-34 Clarence Gunter as of 1929 Wirt G. Bowman as of 1937-39 Mrs. Samuel White as of 1937-39 Sam H. Morris 1940-50 Della Tovrea Stuart 1940-56 Stephen W. Langmade as of 1954 Mildred Larson as of 1963-68 Frank S. Minarik as of 1963 John S. Kruglick as of 1968 Lorraine W. Frank as of 1980-2000 Martin Bacal as of 2004 Janice C. Brunson as of 2004-08 James Pederson as of 2004 Alexis Tameron as of 2004 Sue Tucker as of 2004 Joe Rios as of 2008 Carolyn Warner as of 2008

Democratic state party secretaries, 1936-50 (Incomplete!)

William A. Sullivan 1936-38 Don Lockwood as of 1950

Democratic state party treasurers, 1959-63 (Incomplete!)

Ralph Watkins 1959-63

Members of Democratic State Central Committee, 1940-70 (Incomplete!)

Della Tovrea Stuart as of 1940 Robert Kersting 1951-70

Members of Democratic State Committee, 1970-86 (Incomplete!)

John Ahearn 1970-86

Members of Democratic State Executive Committee, 2004 (Incomplete!)

Lorraine W. Frank as of 2004

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/parties/D/AZ.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]