The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Portugal

David Humphreys (Minister 1791-97) William Smith (Minister 1797-1801) Thomas Sumter (Minister 1809-19) John Graham (Minister 1819-20) John James Appleton (Charge d'Affaires 1820-21) Henry Dearborn (Minister 1822-24) Thomas L. L. Brent (Charge d'Affaires 1825-34) Edward Kavanagh (Charge d'Affaires 1835-41) Washington Barrow (Charge d'Affaires 1841-44) Abraham Rencher (Charge d'Affaires 1844-47) George W. Hopkins (Charge d'Affaires 1847-49) James Brown Clay (Charge d'Affaires 1849-50) Charles B. Haddock (Charge d'Affaires 1850-54) John L. O'Sullivan (Charge d'Affaires 1854) John L. O'Sullivan (Minister 1854-58) George W. Morgan (Minister 1858-61) James E. Harvey (Minister 1861-69) Samuel Shellabarger (Minister 1869-70) Charles H. Lewis (Minister 1870-75) Benjamin Moran (Minister 1875-76) Benjamin Moran (Charge d'Affaires 1876-82) John M. Francis (Minister 1882-84) Lewis Richmond (Minister 1884-85) Edward P. C. Lewis (Minister 1885-89) George B. Loring (Minister 1889-90) George S. Batcheller (Minister 1890-92) Gilbert A. Pierce (Minister 1893) George W. Caruth (Minister 1893-97) Lawrence Townsend (Minister 1897-99) John N. Irwin (Minister 1899-1900) Francis B. Loomis (Minister 1901-02) Charles P. Bryan (Minister 1903-10) Henry T. Gage (Minister 1910) Edwin V. Morgan (Minister 1911-12) Cyrus E. Woods (Minister 1912-13) Thomas H. Birch (Minister 1913-22) Fred Morris Dearing (Minister 1922-30) John Glover South (Minister 1930-33) Robert Granville Caldwell (Minister 1933-37) Herbert C. Pell, Jr. (Minister 1937-41) Bert Fish (Minister 1941-43) R. Henry Norweb (Minister 1943-44) R. Henry Norweb (Ambassador 1944-45) Herman B. Baruch (Ambassador 1945-47) John C. Wiley (Ambassador 1947-48) Lincoln MacVeagh (Ambassador 1948-52) Cavendish W. Cannon (Ambassador 1952-53) M. Robert Guggenheim (Ambassador 1953-54) James C. H. Bonbright (Ambassador 1955-58) C. Burke Elbrick (Ambassador 1958-63) George W. Anderson, Jr. (Ambassador 1963-66) W. Tapley Bennett, Jr. (Ambassador 1966-69) Ridgway B. Knight (Ambassador 1969-73) Stuart Nash Scott (Ambassador 1973-75) Frank C. Carlucci (Ambassador 1975-78) Richard J. Bloomfield (Ambassador 1978-82) Henry Allen Holmes (Ambassador 1982-85) Frank Shakespeare (Ambassador 1985-86) Edward Morgan Rowell (Ambassador 1988-90) Everett Ellis Briggs (Ambassador 1990-93) Elizabeth Frawley Bagley (Ambassador 1994-97) Gerald S. McGowan (Ambassador 1997-2001) John M. Palmer (Ambassador 2001-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/PT-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]