The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Central America

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Nicaragua

John B. Kerr (Charge d'Affaires 1851-53) Solon Borland (Minister 1853-54) John H. Wheeler (Minister 1854-56) Mirabeau B. Lamar (Minister 1858-59) Alexander Dimitry (Minister 1859-61) Andrew B. Dickinson (Minister 1861-63) Thomas H. Clay (Minister 1863) Andrew B. Dickinson (Minister 1863-69) Charles N. Riotte (Minister 1869-73) George Williamson (Minister 1873-79) Cornelius A. Logan (Minister 1879-82) Henry C. Hall (Minister 1882-89) Lansing B. Mizner (Minister 1889-90) Romualdo Pacheco (Minister 1890-91) Richard C. Shannon (Minister 1891-93) Lewis Baker (Minister 1893-97) William L. Merry (Minister 1897-1908) John Gardner Coolidge (Minister 1908) Elliott Northcott (Minister 1911) George T. Weitzel (Minister 1911-13) Benjamin L. Jefferson (Minister 1913-21) John E. Ramer (Minister 1921-25) Charles C. Eberhardt (Minister 1925-29) Matthew E. Hanna (Minister 1929-33) Arthur Bliss Lane (Minister 1933-36) Boaz Long (Minister 1936-38) Meredith Nicholson (Minister 1938-41) Pierre de L. Boal (Minister 1941-42) James B. Stewart (Minister 1942-43) James B. Stewart (Ambassador 1943-45) Fletcher Warren (Ambassador 1945-47) George P. Shaw (Ambassador 1948-49) Capus M. Waynick (Ambassador 1949-51) Thomas E. Whelan (Ambassador 1951-61) Aaron S. Brown (Ambassador 1961-67) Kennedy M. Crockett (Ambassador 1967-70) Turner B. Shelton (Ambassador 1970-75) James D. Theberge (Ambassador 1975-77) Mauricio Solaun (Ambassador 1977-79) Lawrence A. Pezzullo (Ambassador 1979-81) Anthony Cecil Eden Quainton (Ambassador 1982-84) Harry E. Bergold, Jr. (Ambassador 1984-87) Richard Huntington Melton (Ambassador 1988) Harry W. Shlaudeman (Ambassador 1990-92) John F. Maisto (Ambassador 1993-96) Lino Gutierrez (Ambassador 1996-99) Oliver P. Garza (Ambassador 1999-2002) Barbara C. Moore (Ambassador 2002-)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/NC-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]