The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Africa

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Liberia

John Seys (Minister 1866-70) J. Milton Turner (Minister 1871-78) John H. Smyth (Minister 1878-81) Henry Highland Garnet (Minister 1881-82) John H. Smyth (Minister 1882-85) Moses A. Hopkins (Minister 1885-86) Charles Henry James Taylor (Minister 1887) Ezekiel Ezra Smith (Minister 1888-90) Alexander Clark (Minister 1890-91) William D. McCoy (Minister 1892-93) William H. Heard (Minister 1895-98) Owen L. W. Smith (Minister 1898-1902) John R. A. Crossland (Minister 1902-03) Ernest Lyon (Minister 1903-10) William D. Crum (Minister 1910-12) George W. Buckner (Minister 1913-15) James L. Curtis (Minister 1915-17) Joseph L. Johnson (Minister 1918-22) Solomon Porter Hood (Minister 1922-26) William T. Francis (Minister 1927-29) Charles E. Mitchell (Minister 1930-33) Lester Aglar Walton (Minister 1935-46) Raphael O'Hara Lanier (Minister 1946-48) Edward R. Dudley (Minister 1948-49) Edward R. Dudley (Ambassador 1949-53) Jesse D. Locker (Ambassador 1953-55) Richard Lee Jones (Ambassador 1955) Elbert G. Mathews (Ambassador 1959-62) Charles Edward Rhetts (Ambassador 1962-64) Ben Hill Brown, Jr. (Ambassador 1964) Samuel Z. Westerfield, Jr. (Ambassador 1969-72) Melvin Lawrence Manfull (Ambassador 1972) W. Beverly Carter, Jr. (Ambassador 1976) Robert Powell Smith (Ambassador 1979) William L. Swing (Ambassador 1981) Edward J. Perkins (Ambassador 1985) James Keough Bishop (Ambassador 1987) Peter Jon de Vos (Ambassador 1990-92) Bismarck Myrick (Ambassador 1999)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/LB-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]