The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Africa

U.S. consular officials in Liberia

Honorary consuls in U.S. territories representing Liberia

   Cape Palmas (Harper): A. M. Miller (Consular Agent as of 1884)
   Monrovia: James H. Smyth (Consul General as of 1884) — M. A. Anmey (Vice Consul General as of 1884) — William H. Heard (Consul General as of 1895-98) — Beverly Y. Payne (Vice Consul General as of 1898) — Ernest Lyon (Consul General 1903-10) — A. P. Camphor (Vice Consul General as of 1904-05) — John H. Reed (Vice Consul General 1908-14) — George W. Buckner (Consul General as of 1914) — Joseph F. B. Coleman (Vice Consul as of 1916) — James L. Curtis (Consul General as of 1916-17) — Richard C. Bundy (Vice Consul as of 1917-22) — Joseph L. Johnson (Consul General as of 1919-21) — Solomon Porter Hood (Consul General as of 1922-24) — Clifton R. Wharton (Vice Consul as of 1927-29) — Clarence E. Macy (Vice Consul 1927-28) — William T. Francis (Consul General 1927-29) — Claude H. Hall, Jr. (Vice Consul 1929-30) — Henry Carter (Consul 1929-30) — William H. Hunt (Consul 1931-32) — William C. George (Vice Consul 1931-33) — Charles E. Mitchell (Consul General as of 1932) — James E. Brown (Vice Consul 1938) — Rupert A. Lloyd (Vice Consul as of 1949) — Thomas A. Hickok (Consul as of 1949)
   Baltimore, Md.: William E. Hoffman (Consul 1898-1907)
   Boston, Mass.: Charles Hall Adams (Consul 1885-94) Charles Hall Adams (Consul General 1894-1907)
   Charleston, S.C.: George C. Rowe (Consul 1899-1903)
   Chicago, Ill.: Richard E. Westbrooks (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Miami, Fla.: Kelsey L. Pharr (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   Mobile, Ala.: George W. Lovejoy (Consul 1899-1907)
   New Orleans, La.: L. H. Reynolds (Vice Consul 1898-1907) J. A. Hardin (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   New York, N.Y.: Joseph W. Yates (Consul 1881-97) Frederick W. Yates (Consul 1898-1903) Charles T. Geyer (Vice Consul 1899-1903)
   Philadelphia, Pa.: William E. Rothery (Consul 1888-95) Robert C. Moon (Consul 1897-98) Robert C. Moon (Vice Consul 1902-03)
   Port Arthur, Tex.: Mack H. Hanna, Jr. (Honorary Consul as of 1950)
   SAINT Louis, Mo.: Hutchins Inge (Consul 1899-1903)
   San Francisco, Calif.: Ray P. Saffold (Consul 1902-13)
   Washington, D.C.: William Coppinger (Consul General 1874-92) Ernest Lyon (Consul General 1911-13)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/LB-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]