The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Germany

John Quincy Adams (Minister to Prussia 1797-1801) Henry Wheaton (Charge d'Affaires to Prussia 1835-37) Henry Wheaton (Minister to Prussia 1837-46) Andrew J. Donelson (Minister to Prussia 1846-49) Edward A. Hannegan (Minister to Prussia 1849-50) Daniel D. Barnard (Minister to Prussia 1850-53) Peter D. Vroom (Minister to Prussia 1853-57) Joseph Albert Wright (Minister to Prussia 1857-61) Norman B. Judd (Minister to Prussia 1861-65) Joseph Albert Wright (Minister to Prussia 1865-67) George Bancroft (Minister to Prussia 1867-71) George Bancroft (Minister 1871-74) Bancroft Davis (Minister 1874-77) Bayard Taylor (Minister 1878) Andrew D. White (Minister 1879-81) Aaron Augustus Sargent (Minister 1882-84) John A. Kasson (Minister 1884-85) George H. Pendleton (Minister 1885-89) William W. Phelps (Minister 1889-93) Theodore Runyon (Minister 1893) Theodore Runyon (Ambassador 1893-96) Edwin F. Uhl (Ambassador 1896-97) Andrew D. White (Ambassador 1897-1902) Charlemagne Tower (Ambassador 1902-08) David J. Hill (Ambassador 1908-11) John G. A. Leishman (Ambassador 1911-13) James W. Gerard (Ambassador 1913-17) Ellis L. Dresel (Charge d'Affaires 1921-22) Alanson B. Houghton (Ambassador 1922-25) Jacob Gould Schurman (Ambassador 1925-30) Frederic Moseley Sackett (Ambassador 1930-33) William E. Dodd (Ambassador 1933-37) Hugh R. Wilson (Ambassador 1938) James B. Conant (Ambassador 1955-57) David K. E. Bruce (Ambassador 1957-59) Walter C. Dowling (Ambassador 1959-63) George C. McGhee (Ambassador 1963-68) Henry Cabot Lodge, Jr. (Ambassador 1968-69) Kenneth Rush (Ambassador 1969-72) Martin J. Hillenbrand (Ambassador 1972-76) John Sherman Cooper (Ambassador to East Germany 1974-76) Walter J. Stoessel, Jr. (Ambassador 1976-81) David B. Bolen (Ambassador to East Germany 1977-80) Herbert S. Okun (Ambassador to East Germany 1980) Arthur F. Burns (Ambassador 1981-85) Rozanne L. Ridgway (Ambassador to East Germany 1982) Francis J. Meehan (Ambassador to East Germany 1985) Richard R. Burt (Ambassador 1985-89) Richard Clark Barkley (Ambassador to East Germany 1988-90) Vernon A. Walters (Ambassador 1989-91) Robert M. Kimmitt (Ambassador 1991-93) Richard C. Holbrooke (Ambassador 1993-94) Charles Edgar Redman (Ambassador 1994) John C. Kornblum (Ambassador 1997-) Dan R. Coats (Ambassador 2001-05) Phil Murphy (Ambassador 2009-13)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/GR-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]