The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
El Salvador
Central America

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to El Salvador

Solon Borland (Minister to Salvador 1853) James R. Partridge (Minister 1863) Alpheus S. Williams (Minister to Salvador 1866-69) Alfred Thomas Archimedes Torbert (Minister to Salvador 1869) Thomas Biddle (Minister to Salvador 1871-73) George Williamson (Minister to Salvador 1873-79) Cornelius A. Logan (Minister to Salvador 1879-82) Henry C. Hall (Minister to Salvador 1882-89) Lansing B. Mizner (Minister to Salvador 1889-90) Romualdo Pacheco (Minister to Salvador 1890-91) Richard C. Shannon (Minister to Salvador 1891-93) Lewis Baker (Minister to Salvador 1893-97) William L. Merry (Minister to Salvador 1897-1907) H. Percival Dodge (Minister to Salvador 1907-09) William Heimké (Minister to Salvador 1909-14) Boaz Long (Minister to Salvador 1914-19) Peter Augustus Jay (Minister to Salvador 1920-21) Montgomery Schuyler, Jr. (Minister to Salvador 1921-25) Jefferson Caffery (Minister to Salvador 1926-28) Warren Delano Robbins (Minister 1928) Charles B. Curtis (Minister 1931-33) Frank P. Corrigan (Minister 1934-37) Robert Frazer, Jr. (Minister 1937-38) Walter C. Thurston (Minister 1942) Walter C. Thurston (Ambassador 1943) John F. Simmons (Ambassador 1944-47) Albert F. Nufer (Ambassador 1947) George P. Shaw (Ambassador 1949-52) Angier Biddle Duke (Ambassador 1952-53) Michael James McDermott (Ambassador 1953-54) Robert C. Hill (Ambassador 1954) Thomas C. Mann (Ambassador 1955-57) Thorsten Valentine Kalijarvi (Ambassador 1957-61) Murat W. Williams (Ambassador 1961) Raul H. Castro (Ambassador 1964) William G. Bowdler (Ambassador 1968-71) Henry E. Catto, Jr. (Ambassador 1971-73) James F. Campbell (Ambassador 1974-76) Ignacio E. Lozano, Jr. (Ambassador 1976) Frank James Devine (Ambassador 1977) Robert E. White (Ambassador 1980) Deane R. Hinton (Ambassador 1981-83) Thomas R. Pickering (Ambassador 1983-85) Edwin G. Corr (Ambassador 1985) William Graham Walker (Ambassador 1988) Michael G. Kozak (Ambassador 1991) Alan H. Flanigan (Ambassador 1993) Anne W. Patterson (Ambassador 1997-2000) Rose M. Likins (Ambassador 2000)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/EL-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]