The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
El Salvador
Central America

U.S. consular officials in El Salvador

Honorary consuls in U.S. territories representing El Salvador

   Acajutla: Francisco C. St. Martin (Consular Agent as of 1888) — Henry Jones (Consular Agent as of 1889) — Otto Munchmeyer (Consular Agent as of 1896) — Bernardo Nordmann (Consular Agent as of 1897) — Charles J. Ellis (Consular Agent as of 1897) — F. W. Melville (Consular Agent as of 1898) — Frank Wager (Consular Agent as of 1904-05)
   La Libertad: Alonzo D. Ahuja (Consular Agent as of 1884) — Alfred Cooper (Consular Agent as of 1898-99) — Henry Hussey (Consular Agent as of 1904-05)
   La Unión: Emilio Courtade (Consul as of 1883-84) — John B. Courtade (Vice Consul as of 1884) — John B. Courtade (Consular Agent as of 1899) — Samuel F. Lord (Consular Agent as of 1904-05)
   San Salvador: J. M. Duke (Consul as of 1884) — John Jenkins (Consul 1897) — Charles Armendt (Vice Consul as of 1897) — Otto Munchmeyer (Consul as of 1897) — Howard C. Woodsum (Vice Consul 1901) — Howard C. Woodsum (Vice Consul General 1901-05) — John Jenkins (Consul General as of 1905-06) — Samuel E. Magill (Consul General 1907-08) — Arthur Hugh Frazier (Consul General 1908-10) — Harold D. Clum (Vice Consul 1909) — Thomas Ewing Dabney (Consul General 1911) — Thomas Hinckley (Consul General as of 1914) — Anthony J. Perrone (Vice Consul as of 1914) — Lynn W. Franklin (Vice Consul 1915-16) — Francis M. Sack (Vice Consul as of 1917) — Lynn W. Franklin (Vice Consul 1919-22) — Lynn W. Franklin (Consul 1922-24) — William J. McCafferty (Consul 1924-27) — Le Roy F. Beers (Vice Consul as of 1926) — Stanley L. Wilkinson (Vice Consul as of 1929) — Algar E. Carleton (Consul 1929-32) — Frederick P. Latimer, Jr. (Vice Consul as of 1931) — Morgan Atherton (Vice Consul as of 1931-32) — W. Quincy Stanton (Vice Consul as of 1932) — Dorsey G. Fisher (Vice Consul 1935) — Joseph E. Maleady (Vice Consul as of 1938-43) — Overton G. Ellis, Jr. (Vice Consul as of 1938-43) — Walter W. Hoffman (Vice Consul as of 1938) — Wallace W. Stuart (Vice Consul as of 1943) — H. Gardner Ainsworth (Vice Consul as of 1943) — Gerhard Gade (Consul as of 1943) — Jack R. Johnstone (Vice Consul 1945) — Allan F. McLean, Jr. (Vice Consul 1945)
   Sonsonate: Joaquin Mathé (Consul as of 1883-84) — James Geddes (Vice Consul as of 1884)
   Boston, Mass.: George A. Lewis (Honorary Consul for Salvador 1902-07) Ralph Tirrell (Honorary Consul for Salvador as of 1926)
   Brownsville, Tex.: Gustavo Vera (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Chicago, Ill.: Berthold Singer (Honorary Consul for Salvador as of 1921) M. H. Ehlert (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Denver, Colo.: Eduardo Kay (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Los Angeles, Calif.: Robert E. Tracey (Honorary Consul for Salvador as of 1921) Robert E. Tracey (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Manila, Philippine Islands: Manuel Perez=Rosales (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Miami, Fla.: William B. Lawton (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Mobile, Ala.: Benjamin Toomar (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   New Orleans, La.: Felix Formento (Honorary Consul for Salvador 1905-07) Andrés Grombach (Honorary Vice Consul for Salvador as of 1921)
   New York, N.Y.: Jacob Baiz (Consul General for Salvador 1875-77) Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul for Salvador 1891-96) Nicanor Bolet=Peraza (Consul General for Salvador 1895-96) Ernest Schernikow (Vice Consul for Salvador 1899-1900) Ernest Schernikow (Consul for Salvador 1901-07)
   Panama Canal Zone: Ernesto A. Boyd (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
   Philadelphia, Pa.: Nicholas Pedroso (Honorary Consul as of 1935) Jorge Hipsley (Honorary Vice Consul as of 1935)
   SAINT Louis, Mo.: L. D. Kingsland (Honorary Consul for Salvador 1904-07)
   San Diego, Calif.: Luis Mendelson (Honorary Vice Consul for Salvador 1904-07)
   San Francisco, Calif.: Eustorgio Calderón (Consul for Salvador 1895-96)
   San Juan, P.R.: José Hernández=Usera (Honorary Consul as of 1935)
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/EL-consuls.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]