The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History

U.S. diplomatic chiefs of mission to Denmark

Henry Wheaton (Charge d'Affaires 1827-35) Jonathan F. Woodside (Charge d'Affaires 1835-41) Isaac Rand Jackson (Charge d'Affaires 1841-42) William W. Irwin (Charge d'Affaires 1843-47) Robert P. Flenniken (Charge d'Affaires 1847-49) Walter Forward (Charge d'Affaires 1849-51) Miller Grieve (Charge d'Affaires 1852-53) Henry Bedinger (Charge d'Affaires 1853-54) Henry Bedinger (Minister 1854-58) James M. Buchanan (Minister 1858-61) Bradford R. Wood (Minister 1861-65) George H. Yeaman (Minister 1865-70) Michael J. Cramer (Minister 1870-76) Michael J. Cramer (Charge d'Affaires 1876-81) Charles Payson (Charge d'Affaires 1881-82) James Pyle Wickersham (Charge d'Affaires 1882) James Pyle Wickersham (Minister 1882) Wickham Hoffman (Minister 1883-85) Rasmus B. Anderson (Minister 1885-89) Clark E. Carr (Minister 1889-93) John E. Risley (Minister 1893-97) Lauritz S. Swenson (Minister 1897-1905) Thomas J. O'Brien (Minister 1905-07) Maurice F. Egan (Minister 1907-17) Norman Hapgood (Minister 1919) Joseph C. Grew (Minister 1920-21) John D. Prince (Minister 1921-26) H. Percival Dodge (Minister 1926-30) Ralph Harman Booth (Minister 1930-31) Frederick W. B. Coleman (Minister 1931-33) Ruth Bryan Owen (Minister 1933-36) Alvin Mansfield Owsley (Minister 1937-39) Ray Atherton (Minister 1939-40) Monnett B. Davis (Minister 1945-46) Josiah Marvel, Jr. (Minister 1946-47) Josiah Marvel, Jr. (Ambassador 1947-49) Eugenie Anderson (Ambassador 1949-53) Robert D. Coe (Ambassador 1953-57) Val Peterson (Ambassador 1957-61) William McCormick Blair, Jr. (Ambassador 1961-64) Katharine E. White (Ambassador 1964-68) Angier Biddle Duke (Ambassador 1968-69) Guilford Dudley, Jr. (Ambassador 1969-71) Fred Jesse Russell (Ambassador 1971-72) Philip K. Crowe (Ambassador 1973-75) John Gunther Dean (Ambassador 1975-78) Warren Demian Manshel (Ambassador 1978-81) John L. Loeb, Jr. (Ambassador 1981-83) Terence A. Todman (Ambassador 1983-89) Keith Lapham Brown (Ambassador 1989-92) Richard Stone (Ambassador 1992-93) Edward Elliott Elson (Ambassador 1993-) Dick Swett (Ambassador 1998-99) Stuart A. Bernstein (Ambassador 2001)

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/ZZ/DE-diplomats.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]