The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Pacific Ocean

Pacific Ocean Places & Things Named for U.S. Politicians

   The World War II Liberty ship SS Abram S. Hewitt (built 1943-44 at Richmond, California; sold 1947 and renamed, ultimately as the Golfo di Trieste; sank 1964 in the South China Sea) was named for Abram S. Hewitt.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS James Swan (built 1944 at Savannah Georgia; sank 1952 in the Pacific Ocean) was named for James Swan.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS John Burke (built 1942 at Portland, Oregon; bombed by kamikazi and sank in the Sulu Sea, 1944) was named for John Burke.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS George Walton (built 1942-43 at Savannah, Georgia; burned and sank in the North Pacific Ocean, 1951) was named for George Walton.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS Howell Cobb (built 1943 at Richmond, California; scuttled as a breakwater in Cook Inlet, 1966) was named for Howell Cobb.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS John F. Shafroth (built 1944 at Richmond, California; scuttled with obsolete ammunition in the North Pacific Ocean, 1964) was named for John F. Shafroth.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS Isaac Van Zandt (built 1944 at Houston, Texas; scuttled with obsolete ammunition in the North Pacific Ocean, 1966) was named for Isaac Van Zandt.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS John Adams (built 1941-42 at Richmond, California; torpedoed and lost in the Coral Sea, 1942) was named for John Adams.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS George W. Norris (built 1944 at Brunswick, Georgia; wrecked and lost in the North Pacific Ocean, 1946) was named for George W. Norris.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS John P. Gaines (built 1943 at Portland, Oregon; broke in two and sank in the North Pacific Ocean, 1943) was named for John Pollard Gaines.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS John A. Rawlins (built 1942 at Richmond, California; wrecked in a typhoon in the North Pacific Ocean, 1945) was named for John Aaron Rawlins.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WW/PA-names.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]