The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean Places & Things Named for U.S. Politicians

   The World War II Liberty ship SS Albert Gallatin (built 1941 at Terminal Island, Los Angeles, California; torpedoed and sunk 1944 in the Arabian Sea) was named for Albert Gallatin.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS Pierce Butler (built 1942 at Baltimore Maryland; torpedoed and lost 1942 in the Indian Ocean) was named for Pierce Butler.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS Manasseh Cutler (built 1943 at Portland Oregon; torpedoed and lost 1943 in the Gulf of Aden) was named for Manasseh Cutler.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS Henry C. Wallace (built 1943 at Terminal Island, California; sold and renamed SS California Sun; after explosion and fire, sank in Indian Ocean, 1967) was originally named for Henry Cantwell Wallace.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS George C. Childress (built 1943 at Houston, Texas; sold and renamed SS K. Hadjipateras; sunk during a storm in the Bay of Bengal, 1967) was originally named for George C. Childress.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS Henry Knox (built 1941-42 at Terminal Island, California; torpedoed and lost in the Indian Ocean, 1943) was named for Henry Knox.
   The World War II Liberty ship SS John Drayton (built 1942 at Wilmington, North Carolina; torpedoed and lost in the Indian Ocean, 1943) was named for John Drayton.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WW/IN-names.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]