The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jefferson County
West Virginia

Politicians who lived in Jefferson County

  Jefferson County (no city given):
  Jefferson County, year not specified: Thomas C. Green
  Jefferson County, 1800-1899: George M. Beltzhoover — David Billmyer — R. Hume Butcher — C. T. Butler — W. A. Champline — Joseph A. Chapline — Robert Earl — Harry C. Getzendanner — John W. Grantham — Charles H. Knott — George Koonce — Daniel B. Lucas — Jacob S. Melvin — Jacob J. Miller — William H. Travers — E. Willis Wilson
  Jefferson County, 1900-1999: William Campbell — Darwin Henesy — U. S. Martin — Kenneth W. Metz — M. S. R. Moler — George Marion Mullen — Roger J. Perry — Paul L. Raines — Herb Snyder — Margaret P. Williams
  Jefferson County, Va. (now W.Va.): Alfred M. Barbour — R. H. Lee — Logan Osburn
  Bardane: Milton Burr
  Charles Town:
  Charles Town, 1800-1899: Frank Beckwith — B. F. Leisswring — Angus William McDonald — William L. Wilson
  Charles Town, 1900-1999: W. F. Alexander — Frank J. Beckwith, Jr. — Frank Beckwith — Florence Bradley — H. N. Bradley — Paul Cain — Mrs. William Campbell — Washington Lee Campion — Nicholas Carson — Donald M. Eyster — Raymond J. Funkhouser — Louis D. Getzendaner — Clayton L. Haines — Hilda C. Judd — Robert M. Knott — D. D. Link — T. William Marlow — James M. Mason III — Harvey L. Milbourne — James M. Moler — G. P. Morison — Thornton Perry — William P. C. Perry — A. D. Peters — George Porterfield — Roger Ramey — Raymond Riddleberger — Milton O. Rouss — Manning Smith — Carrie Lee Strider — J. Ernest Watson
  Charles Town, 2000-2023: Paul Espinosa — Virginia Lynch Graf — Tiffany Lawrence — Stephen G. Skinner — Blake Thompson — Jill Upson
  Charles Town, Va. (now W.Va.): William Lucas — Edward Tiffin
  Halltown: Jay A. Eyster
  Harpers Ferry: Lisa Franzen — Louise Leonard — J. William Lynch — John Reese Maxey — R. R. McMahon — Patrick Morrisey — Pearline Reardon — Jim Ruland — Elliot Simon — Richard Swanson — Thornton W. Wilt — John C. Yoder
  Kearneysville: P. P. Marshall — Mrs. Floyd P. Owens — Lyle C. Tabb — Terry L. Walker
  Ranson: Tiffany Lawrence — Frank B. Robinson
  Rippon: James L. Louthan
  Shenandoah Junction: Bob Adams — F. C. Littlejohn — Stephen G. Skinner — Herb Snyder
  Shepherdstown: Robert J. Doyle — John Doyle — Susan G. Knott — P. P. Marshall — George R. McKee — C. S. Musser — Mrs. William B. Snyder — Roy M. Stroupe — Charles E. Worman
  Shepherdstown, Va. (now W.Va.): Henry Berry
  Summit Point: Clifford T. Rowland — Joan Van Tol — R. L. Withers
   See also West Virginia areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WV/JF-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]