The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
U.S. District Court in Washington

U.S. District Judges for Washington, 1890-1905 (may be incomplete!)
Cornelius Hanford 1890-1905

U.S. District Judges for the Eastern District of Washington, 1905-2017 (may be incomplete!)
Edward Whitson 1905-10 Frank H. Rudkin 1911-23 J. Stanley Webster 1923-39 Lewis B. Schwellenbach 1940-45 Sam M. Driver 1946 William James Lindberg 1951-61 Charles Lawrence Powell 1959-72 Marshall Allen Neill 1972-79 Jack Edward Tanner 1978 Robert James McNichols 1979-91 Alan Angus McDonald 1985-96 Robert H. Whaley 1995-2009 Edward F. Shea 1998-2012 Lonny R. Suko 2003-13 Stanley Allen Bastian 2014- Salvador Mendoza, Jr. 2014-

Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1910 Oct 15: Edward Whitson, died in office.
  • 1945 Jun 30: Lewis B. Schwellenbach, resigned.
  • 1972 Apr 21: Charles Lawrence Powell, took senior status.
  • 1979 Oct 6: Marshall Allen Neill, died in office.
  • 1991 Apr 20: Robert James McNichols, took senior status.
  • 1996 Dec 13: Alan Angus McDonald, took senior status.
  • 2009 Jul 12: Robert H. Whaley, took senior status.
  • 2012 Jun 7: Edward F. Shea, took senior status.
  • 2013 Nov 1: Lonny R. Suko, took senior status.

    U.S. District Judges for the Western District of Washington, 1905-2017 (may be incomplete!)
    Cornelius Hanford 1905-12 George Donworth 1909-12 Edward E. Cushman 1912-39 Clinton Woodbury Howard 1912-13 Jeremiah Neterer 1913- John Clyde Bowen 1934-61 Lloyd L. Black 1939-50 William James Lindberg 1951-71 George Hugo Boldt 1953-71 William Trulock Beeks 1961-73 Walter Thomas McGovern 1971-87 Morell Edward Sharp 1971-80 Donald S. Voorhees 1974-86 Jack Edward Tanner 1978-91 John C. Coughenour 1981-2006 Carolyn R. Dimmick 1985-97 Robert J. Bryan 1986-2000 William Lee Dwyer 1987-98 Franklin D. Burgess 1994-2005 Ricardo S. Martinez 2004- Benjamin Hale Settle 2007-

    Officeholding Events (may be incomplete!)

  • 1912 Mar 20: George Donworth, resigned.
  • 1912 Jul 22: Cornelius Hanford, resigned.
  • 1939 Nov 3: Edward E. Cushman, took senior status.
  • 1950 Aug 23: Lloyd L. Black, died in office.
  • 1961 Jun 5: John Clyde Bowen, took senior status.
  • 1971 Mar 1: William James Lindberg, took senior status.
  • 1971 Oct 30: George Hugo Boldt, took senior status.
  • 1973 May 31: William Trulock Beeks, took senior status.
  • 1980 Oct 19: Morell Edward Sharp, died in office.
  • 1986 Nov 30: Donald S. Voorhees, took senior status.
  • 1987 Sep 30: Walter Thomas McGovern, took senior status.
  • 1991 Jan 28: Jack Edward Tanner, took senior status.
  • 1997 Nov 1: Carolyn R. Dimmick, took senior status.
  • 1998 Dec 1: William Lee Dwyer, took senior status.
  • 2000 Nov 1: Robert J. Bryan, took senior status.
  • 2005 Mar 9: Franklin D. Burgess, took senior status.
  • 2006 Jul 27: John C. Coughenour, took senior status.
    "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/WA/ofc/usdjud.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]