The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Franklin County

Politicians who were born in Franklin County

  Franklin County (no city given): Corliss P. Stone, 1838
  Bakersfield: Thomas Child, Jr., 1818 — John A. Perkins, 1838 — Charles M. Start, 1839 — William H. Giddings, 1840 — Henry R. Start, 1845 — Oel J. Converse, 1868
  Berkshire: William S. Rublee, 1815 — Horace Rublee, 1829 — Herbert C. Comings, 1863
  East Berkshire, Berkshire: Homer E. Royce, 1819 — Richard H. Pons, 1883
  Enosburg: John Fassett Follett, 1831 — Nelson Bartlett Williams, 1849 — Allen P. Croft, 1854 — Irving S. Coburn, 1874
  Fairfax: John L. Russell, 1805 — David Olmsted, 1822 — George Hunt, 1841
  Fairfield: Bradley Barlow, 1814 — Chester A. Arthur, 1829 — James P. Ryan, 1887 — Consuelo N. Bailey, 1899
  Fletcher: Elias B. Holmes, 1807 — William H. H. Bingham, 1813 — John Parsons, 1835 — Marcellus A. Bingham, 1846 — Albert L. Bingham, 1852 — William Field Cunningham, 1871
  Franklin: Seth Wakeman, 1811 — Carmi L. Marsh, 1842 — Lyman H. Felton, 1847 — William Arnold Whitney, 1849 — Charles W. Gates, 1856 — Arthur H. Gates, 1857 — Reuben M. Towle, 1858 — Fred L. Webster, 1876
  Georgia: Alvah Sabin, 1793 — Arden H. Ballard, 1799 — J. Allen Barber, 1809 — Porter D. Ballard, 1865 — Burt H. Wood, 1869
  Georgia Center, Georgia: William Judson Wightman, 1856
  Highgate: James E. Manahan, 1897
  Highgate Center, Highgate: Warren R. Austin, 1877
  Montgomery: Dana R. Bailey, 1833 — Stephen G. Marvin, 1837 — Otis N. Kelton, 1844 — Benjamin H. Haile, 1846 — Fred E. Tracy, 1865 — Eugene S. Wright, 1878 — Almer F. Gallup, 1884
  Richford: James G. Powell, 1820 — E. Henry Powell, 1839 — John B. Corliss, 1851 — Byron H. Combs, 1853 — Cedric E. Sherrer, 1905
  St. Albans: Gideon O. Whittemore, 1800 — Charles B. Wells, c.1810 — J. Gregory Smith, 1818 — Solomon L. Withey, 1820 — Worthington C. Smith, 1823 — C. D. Huntington, 1830 — Henry M. Stevens, 1831 — Rodric R. Hathaway, 1836 — Herbert Brainerd, 1837 — Edward C. Smith, 1854 — Julius Hubbell Seymour, 1855 — Joseph Blanchard LaChapelle, 1860 — Frank L. Greene, 1870 — Elbert S. Brigham, 1877 — John W. Sheehey, 1886 — J. Gregory Smith, 1889 — Greta A. Ainley, 1896 — John J. Deschenes, 1910 — Elizabeth W. Soule, 1913 — Rodolphe M. Vallee, c.1960
  Sheldon: Heber C. Kimball, 1801 — John F. Draper, 1826 — Wilson Draper, 1834 — Herbert P. Marsh, 1864 — Weston C. Marsh, 1866 — Lena M. T. Clarke, 1886
  Swanton: Lucien B. Caswell, 1827 — Francis G. Converse, 1831 — Clark R. Lyon, 1841 — John W. Campbell, 1845 — Joseph W. Babcock, 1850 — Albert W. Sanborn, 1853 — Henry N. LeFebvre, c.1862 — Jane Wall Purcell, c.1900
  West Berkshire, Berkshire: Charles Clinton Ellsworth, 1824 — Eugene N. Foss, 1858 — George E. Foss, 1863
   See also Vermont birthplaces not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VT/FR-born.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]