The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Utah County

Utah County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Utah County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Utah County (incomplete!): Harvey H. Cluff, 1917-20

Utah County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1912, Baltimore: William M. Roylance — Thomas N. Taylor
   1916, St. Louis: I. H. Masters
   1924, New York: Inez Knight Allen — C. L. Baker — Simon Bamberger — John C. Swenson
   1928, Houston: J. W. Robinson
   1936, Philadelphia: Mrs. A. B. Morgan — John C. Swenson
   1940, Chicago: Charles Dixon
   1944, Chicago: May Greenwood — Minnie Penrod — J. W. Robinson
   1948, Philadelphia: Edna Durham — Frank B. Newman
   1952, Chicago: George S. Ballif — Clyde Weeks
   1972, Miami Beach: Heber Grant Ivins — Karen Shepherd — Grant Wightman — O. Geral Wilde
   1996, Chicago: Fae Beck — Larry EchoHawk
   2004, Boston: Barbara Jean Curtis — David Wilson — Nancy Jane Woodside
   2008, Denver: Mary Lou Huffmon — C. Millicent Lewis — Brian Spittler
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: C. W. Emerson
   1896, St. Louis: John C. Graham
   1904, Chicago: George Austin — C. E. Loose
   1908, Chicago: C. E. Loose — Reed Smoot
   1912, Chicago: John De Gray Dixon — C. E. Loose — Reed Smoot
   1916, Chicago: Reed Smoot
   1920, Chicago: C. E. Loose — Reed Smoot
   1924, Cleveland: R. Eugene Allen — Thomas Coddington — Reed Smoot
   1928, Kansas City: Belle Bockman — John E. Booth — Reed Smoot
   1932, Chicago: Fred L. Markham — Reed Smoot
   1936, Cleveland: Ed M. Rowe
   1940, Philadelphia: J. Rulon Morgan
   1944, Chicago: Arthur V. Watkins
   1948, Philadelphia: A. H. Christensen — Arthur V. Watkins
   1952, Chicago: Denzil Brown — J. Rulon Morgan
   1956, San Francisco: J. Rulon Morgan — Charles E. Peterson — Raymond Taylor — Arthur V. Watkins
   1960, Chicago: Luke Clegg — Harrison Conover — Jackson B. Howard — J. Rulon Morgan — Ernest L. Wilkinson
   1972, Miami Beach: Dorothy Clark — Claudius Stevenson — Amy Valentine — Ernest L. Wilkinson
   2004, New York: Lewis K. Billings — Curtis Bramble — Joseph Cannon — Gayle Ruzicka
   2008, St. Paul: Angela Bleak — Chris Bleak — Curtis Bramble — Susan Bramble — Laura Bridgewater — Timothy Bridgewater — Jason E. Chaffetz — Kari Fox — Jeff Hartley — Brian Henderson — Gary Herbert — Jeanette Herbert — Brian Jenkins — David Lisonbee — Becky Lockhart — Hannah Lockhart — Stan Lockhart — Steven Lund — Mark Madsen — John Valentine — Karen Valentine — Joel Wright
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/UT-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]