The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Val Verde County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Val Verde County

Index to Locations

  • Del Rio Masonic Cemetery
  • Near Del Rio Unknown location

    Masonic Cemetery
    Del Rio, Val Verde County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Bert James McDowell (1880-1943) — also known as Bert J. McDowell — of Del Rio, Val Verde County, Tex. Born in Pittsburg, Camp County, Tex., September 27, 1880. Republican. Alternate delegate to Republican National Convention from Texas, 1920, 1932; postmaster at Del Rio, Tex., 1922-34 (acting, 1922). Died in Del Rio, Val Verde County, Tex., March 8, 1943 (age 62 years, 162 days). Interment at Masonic Cemetery.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Unknown Location
    Near Del Rio, Val Verde County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      C. K. McDowell (d. 1952) — of Del Rio, Val Verde County, Tex. Republican. Delegate to Republican National Convention from Texas, 1912, 1916, 1928 (alternate), 1932, 1936 (alternate), 1940 (alternate), 1944; candidate for Governor of Texas, 1942. Died in 1952. Interment somewhere.
      Relatives: Father of Hobart K. McDowell; great-grandfather of Hobart K. McDowell III (born c.1967).
      Political family: McDowell family of Texas.

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/VV-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]