The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
San Augustine County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in San Augustine County

Index to Locations

  • Near Bland Lake Liberty Hill Cemetery
  • San Augustine San Augustine City Cemetery
  • Near San Augustine Macune Cemetery
  • Near San Augustine Old Broocks Cemetery

    Liberty Hill Cemetery
    Near Bland Lake, San Augustine County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Joe J. Fisher (1910-2000) — of Texas. Born in Bland Lake, San Augustine County, Tex., April 16, 1910. Lawyer; district judge in Texas, 1957-59; U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of Texas, 1959-84. Died, of cancer, in Beaumont, Jefferson County, Tex., June 19, 2000 (age 90 years, 64 days). Interment at Liberty Hill Cemetery.

    San Augustine City Cemetery
    San Augustine, San Augustine County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Stephen William Blount (1808-1890) — also known as Stephen W. Blount — of Burke County, Ga.; San Augustine, San Augustine County, Tex. Born in Burke County, Ga., February 13, 1808. Democrat. Burke County Sheriff; delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of San Augustine, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; postmaster; San Augustine County Clerk. Member, United Confederate Veterans. Died in San Augustine, San Augustine County, Tex., February 7, 1890 (age 81 years, 359 days). Interment at San Augustine City Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Stephen Blount and Elizabeth Blount; married 1838 to Mary Lacy.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

    Macune Cemetery
    Near San Augustine, San Augustine County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Edwin Oswald LeGrand (1801-1861) — of Texas. Born in North Carolina, June 28, 1801. Delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of San Augustine, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836; served in the Texas Army during the Texas War of Independence. Died in 1861 (age about 60 years). Interment at Macune Cemetery.

    Old Broocks Cemetery
    Near San Augustine, San Augustine County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Moses Lycurgus Broocks (1864-1908) — also known as Moses L. Broocks — of San Augustine, San Augustine County, Tex. Born near San Augustine, San Augustine County, Tex., November 1, 1864. Democrat. Member of Texas state house of representatives, 1892; U.S. Representative from Texas 2nd District, 1905-07. Died in San Antonio, Bexar County, Tex., May 27, 1908 (age 43 years, 208 days). Interment at Old Broocks Cemetery.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/SA-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]