The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Montgomery County

Cemeteries and Memorial Sites of Politicians in Montgomery County

Index to Locations

  • Unknown location
  • Montgomery Montgomery New Cemetery
  • Montgomery Montgomery Old Cemetery

    Unknown Location
    Montgomery County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      John McClanahan Lewis — of Montgomery County, Tex. Member of Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1844-45; Speaker of the Texas Republic House of Representatives, 1844-45; Speaker of the Texas State House of Representatives, 1846. Interment somewhere.

    Montgomery New Cemetery
    Montgomery, Montgomery County, Texas
    Politicians buried here:
      Charles Bellinger Tate Stewart (1806-1885) — also known as Charles B. Stewart — Born February 18, 1806. Delegate to Texas Republic Republic constitutional convention from District of San Felipe de Austin, 1836; signer, Texas Declaration of Independence, 1836. Died July 28, 1885 (age 79 years, 160 days). Interment at Montgomery New Cemetery.

    Montgomery Old Cemetery
    Montgomery, Montgomery County, Texas
    Founded 1838
    Politicians buried here:
      Thomas Chilton (1798-1854) — of Elizabethtown, Hardin County, Ky. Born near Lancaster, Garrard County, Ky., July 30, 1798. Member of Kentucky state legislature, 1820; U.S. Representative from Kentucky, 1827-31, 1833-35 (11th District 1827-31, 6th District 1833-35). According to family legend, helped Davy Crockett write his autobiography. Died in Montgomery, Montgomery County, Tex., August 15, 1854 (age 56 years, 16 days). Interment at Montgomery Old Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Margaret (Bledsoe) Chilton (1766-1831) and Thomas John Chilton (1769-1840); brother of William Parish Chilton (1810-1871); married, August 10, 1815, to Francis Tribble Stoner (1797-1842); grandfather of Horace George Chilton; granduncle of Arthur Bounds Chilton; first cousin twice removed of John Smith; second cousin of Joshua Chilton; second cousin once removed of Commodore Perry Chilton and Shadrach Chilton.
      Political family: Chilton family of Missouri.
      See also congressional biography — Govtrack.us page — Find-A-Grave memorial
      Reuben J. Palmer (1829-1868) — of Montgomery, Montgomery County, Tex. Born in Alabama, January 18, 1829. Lawyer; delegate to Texas secession convention, 1861. Died in Montgomery, Montgomery County, Tex., March 20, 1868 (age 39 years, 62 days). Interment at Montgomery Old Cemetery.
      Relatives: Son of Reuben Dejarnett Palmer and Martha Philadelphhia Frances (Christian) Palmer; married to Fannie Winfield Branch.
      See also Find-A-Grave memorial

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/MO-buried.html.  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]