The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jefferson County

Jefferson County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Jefferson County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Jefferson County: [none currently in database]

Jefferson County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1872, Baltimore: G. W. Bryan
   1912, Baltimore: Stuart R. Smith
   1916, St. Louis: Stuart R. Smith
   1920, San Francisco: Stuart R. Smith
   1924, New York: H. M. Hargrove — Myrtle Seago
   1928, Houston: Mrs. Hal Greer — R. L. Murray
   1940, Chicago: J. P. Logan — Chilton O'Brien — Beeman Strong
   1944, Chicago: W. M. Aiken — Ray Andrus — J. Elro Brown — J. D. Ford — Mrs. Howard Gardner — Pat Kent — Charles D. Smith — W. S. Taylor
   1952, Chicago: S. Perry Brown
   1956, Chicago: Tom Canady — Charlie M. Lee — L. L. Morrison — Chilton O'Brien — L. L. Roberts
   1964, Atlantic City: Jack B. Brooks — George W. Cowart — Donald H. Glover — Harvey A. Parker — Gaston H. Wilder, Jr.
   1972, Miami Beach: Donald H. Glover — Barbara Jackson — Loretta Oliver
   1980, New York: Patricia A. Branson — James E. Foret — Donald H. Glover — Russell M. Irving — Pauline Mouton — Linda Parent Robinson — Joe B. Wilson
   1996, Chicago: John M. Breaux — Christina Delgadillo — Sylvia D. McDuffie — Pauline Mouton — Cleveland Nisby — Irmalyn Thomas
   2000, Los Angeles: Nick Lampson
   2004, Boston: Louis Boulet — Joseph Deshotel — Olen Dodd — Nelson Edgerly — Beverly Hatcher — Nick Lampson — Sylvia D. McDuffie — Irmalyn Thomas
   2008, Denver: Tawana W. Cadien — Joseph Deshotel — Charlton P. Hornsby, Sr. — Edna M. Hornsby — William R. Parker — Joyce E. Philen — Mark Smith
Republican National Conventions:
   1912, Chicago: W. C. Averille — Clarence L. Rutt — Howard M. Smith
   1916, Chicago: Russell H. Dunn — Howard M. Smith
   1920, Chicago: Russell H. Dunn
   1924, Cleveland: Clarence L. Rutt
   1928, Kansas City: John W. Tryon
   1932, Chicago: L. J. Benckenstein — William A. Slater
   1936, Cleveland: L. J. Benckenstein — Sterling D. Bennett
   1940, Philadelphia: L. J. Benckenstein
   1944, Chicago: L. J. Benckenstein — John B. Thomas
   1948, Philadelphia: L. J. Benckenstein
   1952, Chicago: Lamar Cecil
   1956, San Francisco: Mrs. A. G. Natwick — Randolph C. Reed — P. C. Tynan
   1960, Chicago: Roland G. Harper — Mrs. Stewart D. Last — Mrs. A. G. Natwick — Fred S. Naumann
   1972, Miami Beach: Mrs. O. J. Richardson — C. E. Shipe — Beth Jo Tucker
   1988, New Orleans: Lisa D. Duperier — Victor Rogers
   2004, New York: David Teuscher
   2008, St. Paul: William Beazley — J. Shane Howard — Michael Truncale
   2012, Tampa: Linda Brown

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/JF-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]