The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Spartanburg County
South Carolina

Politicians who lived in Spartanburg County

  Spartanburg County (no city given):
  Spartanburg County, 1800-1899: J. P. F. Camp — Gabriel Cannon — David Robinson Duncan — Joel Foster — Rice Foster — John S. Gentry — Thomas John Moore — Coy Wingo
  Spartanburg County, 1900-1999: William Sterling Anderson — Grady Cecil Ballard — Hudson Lee Barksdale — Danny Monroe Bruce — Warren DuPre Burnett — Howard Bobo Carlisle — Thomas Walter Edwards, Jr. — Jonas Perry Gray — David Oliver Hawkins — Edwin Schroeder Lake — William Richard Lee — Samuel Phillips Manning — Howard Wofford McCravy — Paul Miller Moore — Lucian Astor Odom — William Simpson Rogers, Jr. — Horace Carroll Smith — James Barnett Stephen
  Spartanburg District County (now Spartanburg County): B. F. Kilgore
  Chesnee: Dewey B. Blanton
  Glenn Springs, Spartanburg District County (now Spartanburg County): B. B. Foster
  Inman: John C. Bell — Robert A. Hammett — Mary Ann Riley
  Moore: Christine Bond
  Mountain Shoals (now Enoree): Starling Tucker
  Spartanburg, year not specified: Frederick B. Dent — Wilson T. Nesbitt
  Spartanburg, 1850-1899: John C. Anderson — Simpson Bobo — Arthur B. Cooke — John H. Evins — Harrison D. Floyd — J. A. Henneman — Samuel T. Poinier — Stanyarne Wilson
  Spartanburg, 1900-1949: Ibra C. Blackwood — Clifford B. Boatwright — Ben Hill Brown — Ben Hill Brown, Jr. — S. D. Brown — Mrs. S. N. Burts — James F. Byrnes — John D. Carson — John G. Clinkscales — Arthur B. Cooke — John Gary Evans — Frank W. Faux — Pierre H. Fike — William M. Floyd — W. M. Freeman — J. Gregg Galbraith — Joseph T. Johnson — Mrs. Olin D. Johnston — Olin D. Johnston — J. G. Jones — J. Allen Lambright — S. T. D. Lancaster — C. Bruce Littlejohn — B. F. Means — Alfred S. Moore — LeRoy Moore — Laban Morgan — Helen DuPre Moseley — Henry T. E. Neuberger — Samuel J. Nicholls — L. W. Perrin — Samuel T. Poinier — W. M. Porter — Donald S. Russell — B. T. Smith — Stanyarne Wilson — John A. Wood — Frank J. Young
  Spartanburg, 1950-1999: Constance D. Armitage — Ben Hill Brown, Jr. — Walter J. Brown — G. C. Burnett — Richard B. Burnett — Sam N. Burts — Hal C. Byrd — Robert F. Chapman — Jesse L. Cooksey — Charles Tyrone Courtney — A. D. Cudd — Stephen Davis — Anne Ebersbach — Frank W. Faux — Harold O. Hatcher — Joseph E. Hines — Neville Holcombe — J. Wade Hughston — Simpson Hyatt — Mrs. Olin D. Johnston — Olin D. Johnston — J. Allen Lambright — C. Bruce Littlejohn — Elaine W. Marks — Roger Milliken — Mrs. Roger Milliken — Charles C. Moore — Helen DuPre Moseley — William E. Moss — Liz J. Patterson — LeGrande Rouse II — Donald Russell, Jr. — Donald Russell — Donald S. Russell — James D. Trout — Thomas W. Whiteside
  Spartanburg, 2000-2023: Michael Eugene Dixon — Mark Hammond — Christina Jeffrey — Nicholas Kekas — Walter McSherry — Thomas A. Santaniello — Junie L. White
  Spartanburg, Spartanburg District County (now Spartanburg County): Simpson Bobo — James H. Carlisle — H. J. Dean — J. G. Landrum
  Spartanburgh Court House, Spartanburgh District County (now Spartanburg, Spartanburg County): Abner Benson — James Brannon — Jesse Cleveland — Frederick Haas — William Irwin — D. Pinckney Johnson — John A. Lee — George W. H. Legg — Joseph Michal — Samuel T. Poinier — John M. Roberts
  Spartanburgh Court House (now Spartanburg): John C. Anderson — Javan Bryant — Enoch Cannon — William S. Cannon — Samuel T. Poinier
   See also South Carolina areas not assigned to counties.
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/SP-lived.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]