The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Richland County
South Carolina

Richland County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Richland County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Richland County: [none currently in database]

Richland County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Franklin Gaillard — John S. Preston
   1876, St. Louis: W. B. Stanley
   1884, Chicago: Leroy F. Youmans
   1888, St. Louis: John T. Sloan, Jr.
   1912, Baltimore: John P. Thomas — Francis H. Weston
   1924, New York: Mrs. W. D. Melton — Thomas B. Pearce — Claud N. Sapp
   1928, Houston: D. W. Robinson — Claud N. Sapp
   1932, Chicago: Claud N. Sapp
   1936, Philadelphia: William Elliott, Jr. — P. E. Payne — Claud N. Sapp — W. D. Simpson
   1940, Chicago: Frank C. Owens
   1944, Chicago: Anne A. Agnew — John W. Crews
   1948, Philadelphia: Mary L. Adams — Anne A. Agnew — Sidney Duncan — J. Drufus Griffin — Frank C. Owens — J. M. Smith
   1952, Chicago: Jeff B. Bates — Mrs. Irvine F. Belser — James F. Byrnes — Cassie Conner — James H. Hammond
   1956, Chicago: Anne A. Agnew — Jeff B. Bates — John K. Cauthen — J. M. Smith — George Bell Timmerman, Jr. — Helen Timmerman — W. Felix Wheeler — Kitty McCravey Willson
   1960, Los Angeles: Anne A. Agnew
   1964, Atlantic City: J. Bratton Davis — Tom Elliott — Eston Marchant — E. L. McGowan — Yancey A. McLeod — Roy Powell — Mrs. Donald Russell — Joseph D. Sapp — Sally Scott — Vernon Scott — Fred Sheheen — J. M. Smith — Frank L. Taylor
   1996, Chicago: Adell Adams — Patrick Anderson — Bob Coble — E. W. Cromartie — Harriet Gardin Fields — Donald L. Fowler — Mary Greene — Richard A. Harpootlian — Darrell Jackson — Dolly Justice — Carol F. Khare — Eli Poliakoff — Betsy Rader — Timothy Rogers
   2000, Los Angeles: Donald L. Fowler — Richard A. Harpootlian — Carol F. Khare
   2004, Boston: James E. Clyburn — Donald L. Fowler — Katie Fowler — Faye Coleman Gray — Ruby James — Carol F. Khare — Deborah Livingston — Beverly Marshall — Frank McBride — John Moylan — Joseph Neal — Zoe Sanders Nettles — Elizabeth Poda — Flaminio Sanchez — Bernice G. Scott — John Scott — Rick Wade
   2008, Denver: Lauren Bilton — Santino Coleman — Ernest W. Cromartie — Bud Ferillo — Carol Fowler — Donald L. Fowler — Anton J. Gunn — Annejanet Harp — Darrell Jackson — John W. Matthews, Jr. — John Moylan — James Rutherford — Bernice G. Scott — Anita T. Thong
Republican National Conventions:
   1880, Chicago: C. M. Wilder
   1884, Chicago: C. M. Wilder
   1888, Chicago: C. M. Wilder
   1896, St. Louis: W. D. Chappelle — J. H. Weston — C. M. Wilder
   1900, Philadelphia: Joshua F. Ensor — Eugene A. Webster — J. H. Weston
   1912, Chicago: J. H. Goodwyn — L. A. Hawkins — A. S. Johnson
   1916, Chicago: John H. Goodwin — L. A. Hawkins
   1920, Chicago: N. J. Frederick — John H. Goodwin — L. A. Hawkins
   1924, Cleveland: N. J. Frederick — John H. Goodwin
   1928, Kansas City: C. G. Garrett — John H. Goodwin — Frederick C. Redfern
   1936, Cleveland: A. J. Collins — Frederick C. Redfern
   1940, Philadelphia: William LeRoy Crosby — I. M. A. Myers
   1948, Philadelphia: Mrs. Andrew W. Simkins
   1952, Chicago: William LeRoy Crosby — Pat Garnett
   1960, Chicago: I. S. Leevy
   1972, Miami Beach: H. Michael Spivey — Henry R. Weeks — C. Tucker Weston
   2004, New York: Earl Felton Brown — Clarence Davis — Jenny Honeycutt — Drew McKissick — Thomas H. McLean — Celestine Parker — Walter Shell Suber — Ron Thomas — Walter P. Witherspoon
   2008, St. Paul: Andre Bauer — Joan B. Brady — Sandra Hicks Bryan — James J. Corbett — Richard Eckstrom — Kevin A. Hall — Henry D. McMaster — Lou Nolan — Celestine Parker — Eaddy Roe Willard
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/RI-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]