The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Newport County
Rhode Island

Newport County Political Parties

Democratic Party chairs in Newport County: [none currently in database]

Republican Party chairs in Newport County: [none currently in database]

Newport County Delegates
to National Party Conventions

Democratic National Conventions:
   1840, Baltimore: Dutee J. Pearce
   1860, Charleston and Baltimore: Edward F. Newton
   1864, Chicago: Gideon H. Durfee — Isaac Lawrence
   1876, St. Louis: Henry D. DeBlois
   1888, St. Louis: Isaac Bell, Jr.
   1892, Chicago: Samuel R. Honey
   1904, St. Louis: Samuel R. Honey
   1912, Baltimore: Patrick J. Boyle — Peter G. Gerry
   1916, St. Louis: Patrick J. Murphy — Mortimer A. Sullivan
   1924, New York: Patrick J. Murphy — Mortimer A. Sullivan
   1928, Houston: Patrick J. Murphy — Mortimer A. Sullivan
   1936, Philadelphia: Cornelius C. Moore
   1940, Chicago: Cornelius C. Moore
   1944, Chicago: Herbert E. Macauley — Cornelius C. Moore
   1948, Philadelphia: John Nicholas Brown — Perle Mesta
   1952, Chicago: Florence K. Murray
   1960, Los Angeles: Paul F. Murray
   1964, Atlantic City: William J. Champion — Paul F. Murray — Joseph J. Nicholson — Claiborne Pell
   1988, Atlanta: Kathleen S. Connell — Margaret K. Connell — Claiborne Pell — Jeffrey J. Teitz
   1996, Chicago: Mary Elizabeth Garrett — Claiborne Pell — Jeffrey J. Teitz
   2004, Boston: Irwin Hamin — M. Teresa Paiva-Weed
   2008, Denver: Patrick J. Kennedy — M. Teresa Paiva-Weed — Deborah L. Ruggiero
   2012, Charlotte: Nicole Beede — M. Teresa Paiva-Weed — Jack Reed — Sheldon Whitehouse
Republican National Conventions:
   1856, Philadelphia: G. Manchester
   1860, Chicago: Nathaniel B. Durfee — Rowland R. Hazard, Jr.
   1864, Baltimore: Henry H. Fay
   1868, Chicago: Charles C. Van Zandt
   1896, St. Louis: John P. Sanborn
   1900, Philadelphia: William P. Buffum
   1908, Chicago: Edward S. Rawson — Charles L. F. Robinson
   1912, Chicago: R. Livingston Beeckman — Clark Burdick — George R. Lawton
   1916, Chicago: R. Livingston Beeckman — George R. Lawton — Guy Norman
   1920, Chicago: R. Livingston Beeckman — Edward A. Sherman
   1924, Cleveland: R. Livingston Beeckman — Arthur A. Sherman — William F. Whitehouse
   1928, Kansas City: William H. Vanderbilt
   1932, Chicago: Robert W. Goelet — William P. Sheffield
   1936, Cleveland: Robert W. Goelet — William P. Sheffield — William H. Vanderbilt — Maude K. Wetmore
   1940, Philadelphia: Mrs. William G. F. Anderson — Henry P. Fletcher — Francis Taylor
   1944, Chicago: Francis Taylor — Mrs. Henry S. Wheeler — Robert R. Young
   1948, Philadelphia: Beverly Bogart
   1952, Chicago: Joan B. Colt — Dean J. Lewis
   1956, San Francisco: Dean J. Lewis
   1960, Chicago: Francis G. Dwyer — Dean J. Lewis
   1972, Miami Beach: Stephen P. Erickson — Eileen Slocum — Anna M. Tillinghast
   1992, Houston: Glenn E. Nippert — Joan B. Quick — Eileen Slocum — Norma B. Willis
   2004, New York: Christine H. Callahan — Richard Eannarino — June Gibbs — David Quiroa — Eileen Slocum
   2008, St. Paul: Virginia Butterworth — Christine H. Callahan — Joseph Goddard — Sandra Goddard — J. William Middendorf — Paula Ouellette — Raymond Ouellette
   2012, Tampa: Lynda Adams-Robitaille — Douglas P. Berge — Barbara Ann Fenton — Richard E. Ford — Amy Lynn Gallagher — Robert J. Gallagher — Joseph H. Lorenz — Daniel Patrick Reilly — John F. Robitaille
Whig National Conventions:
   1839, Harrisburg: George G. King
"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/RI/NE-parties.html.  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]